langprof
56 Jackson Heights, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
langprof
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I spend most of my time studying and teaching languages and literature. I'm pretty independent, am OK being single, but would like to be in love and in a relationship. I love to read and to travel and to cook and bake cakes and pies. I love throwing parties for which I cook for three days and give away most of the food afterward. I like cold weather and skiing. I like warm (but not hot) weather and swimming. I love to read about US and <<international politics. I'm passionately in favor of ending the US hypocritcal approach to immigration -- that it's OK to use Mexicans for cheap labor, but it's not OK to give them a pathway to citizenship. I'm against building a Berlin Wall between the US and Mexico and I'm tired of the US bullying just about every other country in the world.

I am intellectual, politically aware, and sensitive
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I'm teaching Spanish in a public high school in Manhattan. I study a lot about language teaching and learning methods. I like to cook and have guests over. I like to read and learn new languages. This year I'm working on German.
I'm thinking about (early) retirement soon, and what I would do after that. I love to travel, and there's a lot if the world I haven't seen yet.
I’m really good at
* teaching foreign languages, translating written material
* explaining grammar or spelling confusions
* making a 17-minute flourless chocolate cake
* making food for a party of 20 with a few day's notice
* cutting through the bullshit of an argument if I know the subject matter
* being tactful with important but sensitive communication
* making house guests feel very welcome and comfortable
* organizing/delegating tasks on big projects
The first things people usually notice about me
* I'm tall
* If I'm on the subway, I'm usually reading a book
* I'm kind of intellectual looking
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anna Karenina, Crime and Punishment, Simone de Beauvoir

Films: The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, Moscow Doesn't Believe in Tears, Te Doy Mis Ojos

Food: mole poblano, Thai Pineapple Rice, golubtsi (stuffed cabbage), roast beef and baked potatoes, garlic green beans, cakes and pies I bake myself, rasberry lime rickies...
The six things I could never do without
* my family and friends
* my job
* television and movies in several languages: ditto my book collection
* my computer, the Internet, e-mail
* good dictionaries
* New York City restaurants and cafes, and the wherewhital to cook whatever I like
I spend a lot of time thinking about
* my job: my relationships with students, colleagues and administration
* my family
* food: what to cook, what to eat, what not to eat
* health: that I should excerise more, what to eat
* politics: the Presidential elections, the campaign to legalize gay marriage in NYS and to have it recognized nationally
* books, languages I need to maintain or that I'd like to learn
On a typical Friday night I am
On Friday night I may meet with a friend for dinner or for a museum visit. However, more commonly, on Friday nights I order in and watch a video, and go to bed early so I can have lots of energy for Saturday and Sunday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a bit of a loner in my private life. In my professional life I meet with people all the time and I'm effective in that. Though I would like to have love and a relationship in my life, I have a lot of older single friends whose lives seem to be going just fine. I'd like to have a relationship -- but so that I can enrich my life and someone else's -- not just to ward off loneliness, which I'm not afraid of.
You should message me if
* you like foreign languages, international politics, travel, cooking and quiet shared times.
* you like a good conversation more than disco and loud music.
* you're not into drugs, heavy drinking, or other acts of escapism.
* you're NOT a born-again Christian who wants to save my atheist soul.
More