60Vancouver, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

I'm a happily married computer geek, and native of the Portland (Oregon) Metro area. The son of a pair of pharmacists, formerly in Army Intelligence (where I got to visit Korea, Germany, England, more), a programmer who can talk with non-techies about their computers. Currently, I'm a Database Administrator with a large internet retailer.

I've been quite happily married to my partner, Gyelle, since 1992. We have an open, polyamorous relationship, and are exploring the possibilities this relatively recent change opens in our lives. It's definitely interesting....

And I am definitely sapiosexual.

Generally, I have eclectic interests. I made my own wedding clothes (Italian Renaissance) and assisted with the other 20 sets of clothing needed; I have taught dance, sing Olios at the Grange melodramas, teach informally, and I'm usually willing to try most anything that doesn't require me to deal with heights (which often scare me). I love good comedy, relatively clean by preference, and enjoy ComedySportz quite a bit. I love good nature photography, and enjoy finding interesting natural items to photograph myself. Of course, this requires me to get out into nature... which is another thing I enjoy.

I love reading (Science Fiction and Fantasy, Science, Manga, True Dumb Stories (i.e. dumb criminals and the Darwin Awards), Political essays, some standard fiction and Biographies, some of the better erotica, etc, etc....), enjoy most music, all of the various types of dance that I have seen so far - not that I can perform them, but I appreciate them, especially Modern dance - enjoy collecting unusual and attractive fossils, rocks and crystals. I am a casual gamer (Champions Online is my current main game, but board games, role-playing games, some other computer games, cards, and others are all enjoyable). and enjoy spending time with my lady, both in and out of the house.

Spiritually, I am an agnostic pagan (or pagan agnostic if you prefer), and yes, you can be both agnostic and pagan. I am a founding member of a non-denominational Pagan teaching group, Lyceum of Trees. I have no problems with people who are of any faith, or no faith, but do not like people who try to push their faith onto me or others. Your path is yours....

Although I find it difficult to introduce myself to new people, and am reluctant to interrupt others for any reason, it's only a hindrance before I meet you. Once I've gotten past that barrier, I'm pretty much fine.

I am an introvert, so time alone is a part of who I am. I recover energy while alone, and use energy while in groups, and thus am not a serious, frequent partier. Quiet social time with friends is something I quite enjoy, and parallel tracking is just fine with me.

I am eclectic, intellectual, and romantic.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently living a happy life with my love, Gyelle, while working as a DBA for I also help teach a non-denominational paganism 101 class (we have two cycles running currently - one in Portland, one in Salem) for those who are interested but don't know where to look for more information.

With a commute from Vancouver, WA to Tualatin, on top of working too many hours currently, some of my extracurricular activities have been curtailed - partly due to lack of time, partly due to lack of energy. A trip to Powell's Books, a casual dinner somewhere interesting, some walking on the waterfront or in a park, or taking in a movie is my normal way of relaxing.
I’m really good at
Freestyle cooking (no recipes)
Thinking 'outside the box'
My work
Remembering obscure, useless bits of information
Forgetting people's names (which really frustrates me)
Helping people understand their computers
Medieval dance (years out of practice though)
Enjoying life
Vergil is really good at being a supportive, loving presence while
people work out their issues.
The first things people usually notice about me
I had no idea... so I asked some friends.

"Your hair"
"The fact that you're a truely nice guy"
"Your really warped sense of humor" (who, me?)

your amazing sense of fun.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This has to be the hardest question in the profile. There are too many items in these categories!

Books: My primary genre is Fantasy and Science Fiction, with my favorite authors being Steven Brust, Terry Pratchett, Glen Cook (only the Garrett PI series), Roger Zelazny (OK, so he's dead - he still authored some incredible books), David Gemmell, E.E. "Doc" Smith, Isaac Asimov, Mercedes Lackey. (notice any patterns yet? I don't.) and many others. I also read Science, History, Biographies, some mainstream fiction (but please keep the next "Great American Novel" away from me), good erotica (there is so little of it), Trivia collections (the more humorous, the better), and an odd smattering of books across the spectrum.

Music: Easier to list what I don't like. I'm not into Angry music of any genre, or "twangy" country music. Other than that, I like at least some of all of the other genres I've listened to.

Food: Okay, I really like good Chocolate Cream Pies - lousy for me, I know, but they're soooo good. Good food is a pleasure, and I love experimenting as I cook. An unfortunate allergy to peppers keeps me from liking some cuisines (if you felt like I did after eating true mexican, you would hate it too), and I don't care for liver, pumpkins, or cranberries. Everything else - I'll at least try it. Well, I have made an exception for the Chicken Feet at Dim Sum...

Movies: Generally, I dislike feel-bad movies - horror, drama that ends with everyone losing, explicit anger and loss, etc. I will happily watch movies from many genres in different circumstances. My favorite movie of all time - currently, that's Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (for its entertaining psychodrama aspects primarily). Others include the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Music Man, Grave of the Fireflies (but I won't watch that again), and the Lion King (No, I have not seen the new 3D version - not sure I will).

Shows: On TV, I like reality shows with a point, such as Project Runway, So You Think You Can Dance (which I would watch for the dancing anyway), Top Chef, etc. Please keep shows like Big Brother and Survivor off my screen. I also like some comedy (The Daily Show stands out), some anime (more adult plotlines, please), and some others, but most generic network dramas, sitcoms, etc can just be ignored.

For live shows, I like most things I have seen, from high-school renditions of Snoopy to historical Brass bands to ballet to ... I can't attend many modern music concerts due to oversensitive ears objecting to overpowered amps.
Six things I could never do without
Love and affection
Friends and family
The written word (books, magazines, newspapers, interesting cereal boxes...)
My computer and the internet
Access to nature
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Joy - I have quite a bit in my life right now
Justice - I'm hoping the country moves towards providing justice for all once again
Family and Friends - they're just good for the heart
Food - Hey, I'm still a guy!
On a typical Friday night I am
.... wondering what a typical Friday night would be. I could be at home with family, out with friends, working a late-night install, having a picnic, visiting a bookstore, playing WoW, watching obscure items recorded on the DVR, playing Sorry, checkers, or chess with my Grandson, simply relaxing, barbecuing, um.... I think that covers the last three months.

Indulging in your pinochle addiction
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Recently, I went to a Moulin Rouge party in a gold bustier, high heels, fishnet stockings, ruffled panties, and elbow length gloves, with my hair curled. It's not my first time at a party in heels, either, although crossdressing is not really my thing.
You should message me if
... You are looking to talk or make friends before even thinking about any type of relationship, don't mind a skewed sense of humor, and don't mind someone who still can be shy when it comes to introductions and imposing on others.

... you are the type of person who could enjoy discovering a beach covered with tiny gravel, where there were lots of agates and equally tiny shells in the gravel, and spending time there with a friend, discovering and sharing tiny treasures.

Also, back in 2003, I broke three ribs in multiple places. How? I coughed. Yep, I really did break the ribs due to a severe cough, and because of this and that, they have never fully healed. This has left me unable to do much exercise due to pain issues, although now, seven years out, things are improving. Still, as a side effect I am not in the best condition. If this bothers you, you may as well pass me by.
The two of us