70Toronto, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am lucky to have retired at 57 (previously a Quality Assurance Manager), and so I'm well into the fun of having time to do what I love. I'm a child of the sixties, and still have many alternative values, I like simple living, love nature, and have always pursued self-knowledge. I'm mostly not a big talker, but never shy. If you're looking for an alpha male, that's not me, but I have a lot of self-confidence. I'm independent and self-sufficient, but have a lot of love to give. I have lived in India and England and seen about 25 countries, and recently visited Australia twice. I was really into writing poetry for a time, but now I'm crazy about photography.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a member of a meditation group in Toronto. I am associated with an ecovillage, where I once owned property. I do volunteer work for a local non-profit art gallery. I have been a hobby beekeeper for 12 years.

I do a lot of photography and travel/hike around the Ontario countryside, particularly the Bruce Trail, looking for subject. I have built my own website, which contains my photography, writing, the art of some of my friends and a section for my son's music. I have been in various group photo shows, as well as self-published four books of photos (and one of poetry).
I’m really good at
I'm getting better and better at creating photographic images that really excite me. It's great, because I don't know what I'll accomplish next, or what the subject will be.

I wish I could say I'm good at beekeeping, but although I've been at it twelve years I've only scratched the surface of that skill.
The first things people usually notice about me
No idea on that one....
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Magus, On the Road, 100 years of Solitude, The Crossing, the Electric Koolaid Acid Tests, anything by Toni Morrison, Rumi

Movies: Women in Love, The Abyss, Amelie, Wings of Desire, The Village, The Double Life of Veronique, Groundhog Day, Barry Lyndon, Directors like Terry Gilliam, Fellini and Terrence Mallick

Music: I'm crazy about music, just about all kinds, but especially 60's Rock and Folk, WorldBeat and West African. Some (just some) of my all time favourites...Jefferson Airplane, Bach, Baaba Maal, Sade, Tim Buckley, Roxy Music, Talking Heads, Sarah McLachlan, Leonard Cohen, Neal Young, Jeff Beck, Stones, Pearl Jam, Miles Davis, Arvo Part.

Love Indian food! Love to cook gourmet!
Six things I could never do without
My sons, creating something, the sound of an electric guitar, a walk in the woods, holding hands with someone, toast.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to stop thinking so much...
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm retired, its all the same day to me!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not half likely on that one.....
You should message me if
...my profile resonates with you. I think it's very important to have common interests, values and perspectives. I am good with messaging back and forth for a while, but hope a casual, relaxed, no expectations meeting follows.
The two of us