65Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I would call myself independent - having lived on my own for a good number of years. I am also a valued friend - I am loyal and trustworthy and a good listener. Some people find me quite serious when they first meet me, but I love to laugh and have fun. I do have a serious side and I am self reflective and fairly deep thinking. I am extremely loving and tender. I am also organised and a good planner.
What I’m doing with my life
Working part-time currently on a self-employed basis - so work goes up and down a bit and causes me a bit of worry at times. Other times I just relish the free time. I love the work that I do and am working towards working for three days next year, in a slightly more organised way than currently. I need to free time up for other interests which will make my life more rounded. Currently I love to read, walk and cook but it's all a bit ad hoc.
I’m really good at
I've always said I was the one in the family with the least obvious shining talent! I am good at cooking - particularly baking. I'm really good at organising but also good at sharing responsibility and not feeling as if I need to be in charge. I'm a fun Granny and feel I have been a great Mum. I'm also a really good friend.
The first things people usually notice about me
Lots of people comment on my short hair, my jewellery collection (nothing fancy but I'm not often seen out without earrings!) and my sense of style. People are also often surprised that I'm in my 60's - I am usually taken for younger.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books change all the time. I've just read A Thousand Splendid Suns, so that, of course, is my favourite book. I've just been listening to Johnny Cash - so, yes, he's my favourite. I like some folk, country and western and jazz. Anything which reaches my soul. Food, eating out would a curry or a good pizza or something more upmarket - fish, meat or vegetarian. I like simple, well cooked food. At home I mostly cook and eat fish or vegetarian for me. I love cakes and coffee. Movies, I love a variety but not keen on thrillers and horror movies.
Six things I could never do without
We all have to adapt at times - so I guess I would survive. However, my two daughters and my grandchildren seem obvious. Also music, books and my blusher and earrings. Is that more than six?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
People in my life, my work, politics and how I can make the most of the next few years. I also love to notice and appreciate my immediate surroundings when I'm out walking.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either out with friends having a drink and something to eat or at home enjoying my own nice food - maybe a sweet treat, a glass of wine and a bit of television.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm quite an open person but don't feel very willing to commit to this one just now... here's a tip though. I'm slightly sensitive about my hair, so don't ask any questions about it on first meeting..Yo!
You should message me if
You are open to seeing how we get on and would like to meet up at some point. If you are prepared to be honest and you are not too closed to new adventures. I am looking for commitment but realise that only comes with time and effort. I do expect honesty from the start though. Please try not to say you will phone me if you don't want to and please try not to say you had a nice time if you didn't. I am flexible and adventurous. Are you?
The two of us