30Somerville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I want to see the world, make a difference, share my time with great people, and try everything at least once -- I guess I'm on my way to accomplishing that.

I'm originally from a small town in western New York, and I grew up going to summer camp. As a result, I try to spend as much time outside (in the woods, on the beach, etc.) as possible. I also love to travel and experience other cultures and perspectives.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working for an amazing microfinance nonprofit. I'm still trying to figure out my long term plans, but for now I'm satisfied that I have a job I can be proud of and that I'm actually using my degree (Global Studies and English double major).

In my spare time I lead a Brownie troop, volunteer, and travel -- most recently visiting a friend in Ethiopia, but I've been to India, China, Morocco, and the UK as well. I'm always thinking about where I want to go next.
I’m really good at
Planning adventures, bringing that statement from 15 minutes ago back in a hilarious and relevant manner, being optimistic, and remembering song lyrics after hearing a song once.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my eyes, and my willingness to be a little bit ridiculous. Life is a lot more enjoyable that way.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: On Beauty by Zadie Smith, Half the Sky by Nick Kristof and Sheryl Wudunn, and Strange Pilgrims by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Suggestions are always welcome -- some of the best books I've read have been thrown at me randomly.

Movies: Once, Winter's Bone, Moulin Rouge, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Shows: New Girl, The Colbert Report, The Rachel Maddow Show, Downton Abbey, Girls

Music: Florence and the Machine, Ani Difranco, Regina Spektor, Adele, Jason Mraz, Jack Johnson (the old stuff), Ray LaMontagne... I listen to and enjoy almost everything, but lean towards music that's easy to sing along to and singer/songwriter stuff.

I love Moroccan, Chinese, Thai and Indian food.
Six things I could never do without
great friends
fulfilling work
a good book on a long train ride
deep conversations (with or without wine)
time outside and away from the city
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The direction my life is heading, relationships, ambition and whether I have enough of it or too much of it, and where I want to travel next -- even if just for a weekend.
On a typical Friday night I am
Up for anything.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My entire family can play guitar [really well] -- except me. Sometimes I try to teach myself in secret.
You should message me if
You'd love to drop everything and travel the world, but your sense of responsibility gets the best of you (most of the time).

You're interested in trying something new and don't know who to bring along with you on your adventures.

Or if anything above struck your fancy. :)
The two of us