69Albuquerque, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Really well-educated and socially aware (I hope) but perhaps still a bit small town. Medium well-traveled. Not afraid of or particularly hiding my feminine side, but I'm pretty much a "guy." I'm the stong, silent type, I suppose, but still I think a good conversationalist. I see self-motivation inspired by education as better than simple entitlement. Two degrees from University of Colorado in Boulder.
What I’m doing with my life
Retired early at 55 but am doing pretty well keeping busy with "projects." Maintaining/helping maintain lots of cars and motorcycles and repairing/remodeling my house. Using tools and shovels.

Recently have learned that being a "grandpa" is world's coolest thing and love the opportunities to babysit for stepdaughter who's a really busy career woman with lots of irons in lots of fires. This has thankfully continued following my divorce from grandmother even in light of fact I'm not officially related to this very bright 10-year-old genius girl.

Have just finished completely remodeling my kitchen and am currently in a bit of withdrawl before finding what my next project will be.
I’m really good at
Well, I sure hope I'm "good at it" because my main thing is helping other people--usually with mechanical sorts of things. In addition, I've merited all-day babysitting asignments, so must not be doing too badly at that, either.

I'm also I hope "good at" being up-to-date informed of world events and new technology. Can keep up my end of conversation on many topics and am eager to learn and open minded.

I can lift heavy weights.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall and in certain circles would be said to look really Danish.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: always nonfiction
Enduring Courage (Eddie Rickenbacker)
Every Spy a Prince
Boats in the Night
Great Plains
The Last Boy
On the Rez
Silent Voices of World War 2
The Worst Hard Time
Berlin Diaries, 1940-1945 - Princess in Berlin

Movies: NOT science fiction or violence
I was intrigued by Danish actor Mads Mikkelsen (villian in Casino Royale) and with the help of Netflix staged my own Danish Film Festival. Favorites from that were
Flammen & Citronen
After the Wedding
Open Hearts

I also like Jennifer Anniston films, that is if she's not working in food service.

And I really like The Jane Austen Book Club and Islands in the Stream

Shows: not much recently

Music: Rock and Roll and Country, that is, danceable. The only videos on my iPhone are Imelda May.

Food: Mexican and German
Six things I could never do without
Traveling by car or (BMW) motorcycle
Mechanical things to fix
Mexican food and Coca Cola
Things to learn
Babysitting Granddaughter
Women (one at a time)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Cars and girls of course
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately (sorry to say) watching House Hunters International
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Been divorced since 9/2010, separated about 2 years prior (married 18 years). It was 20 years single between #1 and #2 and not looking to repeat that pattern.
You should message me if
Yes, if you're a "girl who likes guys," i.e. you'll go for a motorcycle ride with me and go to the opera with your girlfriends. If you want your own bike, that will put you in the "exotic" category, but so will your artistic abilities and approach to life.
The two of us