62 Richmond, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I sail for fun and employment, row for exercise 5-6 times per week. I live in Point Richmond with my 11 year old daughter (half-time) who shares her fathers love of humanity.
I'm a licensed boat captain: I do boat charters and sailing instruction as a second career. Backpacking, hiking, and sailing in new places give me great pleasure.
A long distance voyage is in the not too distant future, and I'm not just talking about Mexico. Making it to Malta is one of my goals.
I'm financially secure with no skeletons or baggage except the ones I use for traveling...and a few good backpacks.
What I’m doing with my life
Teaching, planning for retirement, looking for the next phase, trying to form a non-profit sea education organization, gardening (a little) sailing a lot, writing poems in my spare time, going to the library, watching movies on netflix, hanging out on Orcas Is. rowing, reading, going to Europe for the summer: working a little and playing a lot, taking my daughter to horseback riding lesson, sailing around Marseilles.
I’m really good at
sailing, rowing, making tea, cooking breakfast on sunday mornings.
The first things people usually notice about me
you tell me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Umberto Eco, Ethan Canin, Jane Austin are my favorite writers. Eco's The Island of the Day Before is a book I could pick up, read and laugh with any time. Recenlty I read Prouste and the Squid, a book about language and the brain. Ethan Canin feels like a good brother to me. I just finished reading The Swerve, about Lucretus: the best book I've read in a couple of years. Currently reading The Savage Continent.
Amelie, Travelers and Magicians, Les Trois Seasons, American Beauty are some of my favorite films. My taste in music is fairly eclectic. I'm not a big opera fan, but I do love Turandot and some Monteverdi. Ryuichi Sakamoto, Tony Bennett, Ralph Towner, Andalusian music from Spain, various modern jazz artists, the Beatles are some of the things on my Ipod. It also contains a few lectures from UC Berkeley.
The six things I could never do without
my daughter, good food, the sun, hope, affection, a horizon line.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
love, work, the next poem or photograph, the things my daughter says to me.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing a "Beercan Race" making dinner with friends, hanging out with my daughter, reading,
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like my privacy.
You should message me if
you found any of the above interesting