41Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Male, engineer, keeper of close friends, retired chef, world traveler, skier, camper, tennis player, reader of books, cracker of jokes. Equally introverted as I am extraverted ( ENTJ... or so I am told).
What I’m doing with my life
Working and occasioanly traveling internationally for one of the rare successfully startups that is making stuff that consumers actually buy and like.

When I'm not doing what ever it is I'm paid to do I can often be found escaping to north Tahoe when there is snow, shopping at farmers markets and then figuring out new ways to prepare the day's haul, keeping busy outdoors with tennis, skiing, and the gym when not doing the others. Volunteering as well, though I'm currently in search of a new venue to donate my time.
I’m really good at
- not looking my age, and to be honest not always acting it either
- packing and traveling light
- racking up airfare miles and then using them to vacation far far away.
- going on vacation. (Who doesn't like vacation)
- raiding a pantry and making a great meal
- being silly / irreverent
- making jokes about vitamin D and children getting rickets
- being very picky about the furniture and stuff that I chose to keep in my abode.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't have a clue. But there was a two year old in a restaurant who once said, "Mommy that man has no hair"
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
- I like books, I often have a stack of volumes on my kindle..( flying a lot = reading a lot.).... Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance was the first book that stayed with me. Also Camille Pissarro... yes he wrote as well as painted.
- Big fan of Radiolab, The Moth, Planet Money, etc... basically anything with a good narrative.... obsessed with Invisibilia, talk about a killer first season.
- Music. So much to say.
- Food, yea I like it... I once cooked professionally in a couple of brasseries to pay for school. I keep my own starter as a pet, it's name is Bradley (it's a colony of goodness).
Six things I could never do without
- my friends. Yes I have more then six of them. When I last counted it was seven ;)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Connections, social currency, and the creation there of.
On a typical Friday night I am
In or Out... flying home, skiing, camping, crashing on the couch with a book, braising a pork shoulder... whatever.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Pretty much an open book, but sometimes the pages stick. I've outlived my parents, put my self though school, lived around the globe (Nola, Philly, Berlin, Beijing, Maine, and now Oakland). I've loved and lost and loved again... not sure what else there is.
The two of us