55Lanham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have lived in the Maryland/DC area for about 6 years.
Prior to that I lived and worked in a variety of different
locations in the US and overseas. (Britain and New Zealand)
Foreign travel these days is usually one big trip each summer.

My interests are varied. For sport and exercise I visit a gym regularly
(Pilates/Zumba) and train in martial arts. At various times in the past
I have liked to hike and camp, although I haven't done much of either lately. Other interests are photography, (just made the switch to digital), music (mainly HR and HM), movies (wide range) and science fiction in all its forms (written, film and TV). Recent TV viewing has been "The Big Bang Theory", "Battlestar Galactica" and "The 100". Reading covers documentary, autobiography and comedy. ("Shopaholic" series is hilarious.) My restaurant tastes are quite wide though I particularly like Mexican food.

Currently I work as a scientist at a major facility in Maryland.
Previously I have worked as both a scientist and a software developer,
roles which have taken me to different parts of the world
at different times.

I am looking for a woman with similar temperament and interests as myself for dating and subsequently a long term relationship. The most important trait I am looking for in a woman is that she says what she means and means what she says. For long term compatibility there must be the motivation to get things done, the ability to solve problems, the skills to deal effectively with difficult situations when they arise, the determination to see plans through to fruition, the intelligence to make difficult decisions, the integrity to keep to a decision once its been made, the individuality to be your own person and the closeness to work as a team towards shared goals.

Other traits I find attractive are the ability to hold intelligent
conversations, openness to new ideas, flexible thinking, financial
responsibility, self-discipline and consistency.
What I’m doing with my life
For as long as I can remember I always wanted to be a scientist. It took me a long time and a lot of effort to get there and I finally did it. Now I am looking to develop my other interests in other areas, including finding a partner to share them with.
I’m really good at
Organizing, planning, logistics - particularly having to deal with chaotic and awkward situations.
Writing software (which I do a lot of the time).
Keeping in touch with my relations scattered across the world.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am quiet and tend to let others speak first.
I have a wide range of interests.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books : Science Fiction, particularly the great classic works. (Asimov, Heinlein, Clark, Smith, Herbert.)
Movies : Wide range. (Lang, Kubrick, Scott, Wier, and many others.)
Shows : TV : Documentaries, Battlestar Galactica, The 4400, anything produced by Gerry Anderson, The 100, The Big Bang Theory. Theater : Various tastes. Even used to appear in amateur theater.
Music : Mainly hard rock and heavy metal. (Attended many concerts in teenage years and 20s. Not been to any for a while.)
Food : Like Mexican, Chinese, Italian. Willing to try many cuisines.
Six things I could never do without
1. Internet access.
2. Intelligent conversation.
3. Books.
4. Regular meals.
5. A good night's sleep.
6. Swiss army knife.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What goes on in the world around me, both immediate and much further away.
What makes people tick. (Philosophy, psychology, development, NLP, cybernetics.)
How the world works and where its going, on multiple scales (cybernetics again).
Whatever new thing I am learning at the moment.
On a typical Friday night I am
At the local grocery store.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
That you will have to meet me to find out.
You should message me if
You have personality traits similar to mine. You have interests in common with mine. You are looking for a long term relationship based on the same values as I have. You would like to get to know me better, exchange ideas about the interests we have in common and find more things in common.
The two of us