lorelein
34Austin, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
lorelein
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm having some ongoing health issues and am not looking to date or go out to socialize until I get my health under control. So basically all I can offer right now is a fun, fabulous online penpal.

Fair warning - I often don't reply to anyone whose profile is less than an 90% match or more than a 10% enemy match to mine because we disagree on social issues personally important to me.

A deal-breaker for some: due to negative associations, I do not currently like to play most board games. Card or tile games are fine. I know it's counter-intuitive to the rest of my personality, and it dismays my friends. I'll watch y'all play board games all day, but I won't participate.

I am: a punster, eccentric, serendipitous, effusive, intense, chameleonic, travel-sized, a minimalist, honest, ethical, liberal, empathic, compassionate, outspoken, crude, queer, Burner, and so on.

I try to be at least as cool as Reggie Watts. My favorite quote comes from Joseph Fort Newton: "People are lonely because they build walls instead of bridges." I also have a particular soft spot for the Latin phrase "Dum spiro, spero" (While I breathe, I hope).

Prior to the past 8+ years in Austin, I've lived in the Houston area, small towns around Sugar Land, TX, and two years in Berlin, Germany.

I have some fabulously muscular legs from cycling and other activities, and I'm fat. If you think someone weighing about 170 lbs. and wearing a size 14 in women's clothing is outside of your criteria for personal attractiveness then I am definitely not a match for you.
What I’m doing with my life
I upgraded from volunteering within the public library system to working there after my college financial aid unexpectedly dried up. It's my dream job, and I'm so fortunate to have it. I studied college computer science, math, and sociology courses, although I had to drop out due to ongoing health issues.

I currently live alone because there aren't any co-ops in north Austin, but I spent a year living in two co-op groups in east Austin. I have a strong interest in sharing resources and responsibilities (cohousing, co-ops, etc.). I'm a budding (har har) gardener that had a plot at a community garden until I lost eligibility by moving.

I play a lot of Pokemon Go. My interest in card games like Dominion, Magic: the Gathering, Hearthstone, and DiXit waxes and wanes.

I also volunteer to proofread scanned books for Distributed Proofreaders as a tiny way to digitize and preserve older literature; I also volunteer to index old public records with Family Search to assist in genealogy searches.

As an autodidact I try to practice German and Spanish skills on DuoLingo. I have a special fondness for learning languages because I love to learn how people use different sounds and gestures and other ways to communicate the same concept to other people. I love people-watching (in the least creepy way possible).

I like to share videos!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYi24D9lHqc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r6XbhIRtUjQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpHniCEHY7I
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3FOzD4Sfgag
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cbk980jV7Ao
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Pq-S557XQU
I’m really good at
friendships, exploring, causing people to laugh, quoting Internet memes, squealing in glee, arguing for the cards of other people in card games, dividing small numbers into their lowest common denominators
The first things people usually notice about me
I laugh often, hard, and loudly. I giggle-snort. If you see it then you'll definitely hear it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Book recommendations:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/36917151-merecolai?shelf=favorites

Do you have a favorite book? Tell me about it! I devour sci-fi and fantasy anthologies, and I'm especially fond of most writings of N.K. Jemisin, Nnedi Okorafor, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, James Alan Gardner, Mary Roach, Jasper Fforde, Patrick Rothfuss ...

I watch TV shows online like Steven Universe and Adventure Time. I watch some fantasy, action, science fiction (naturally) and darker movies as well. I also like nature/science shows and documentaries Ex: David Attenborough

Anime: Food Wars!, Kill la Kill, Knights of Sidonia, Osomatsu-san, Yuri on Ice, Samurai Champloo, Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid, Paprika, Another, Cowboy Bebop

I like most music; give me some drum and bass, and I'll shake what my mama gave me. My playlist consists mainly of folk music, pop, EBM, industrial, and musical hits from the 1960s forward. Lately I have In Love with a Ghost, A Great Big Pile of Leaves, Tove Lo, and Lorn on repeat. I like music mashups that theoretically shouldn't mesh well but do in practice Ex: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ft9BAClTh0M

I also like bands like Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio because they have song titles such as "Three Is an Orgy, Four is Forever" and "Who Stole the Sun from Its Place (In My Heart)" and I cannot tell if they're serious or it's all a big joke.

I cannot think of a food that I wouldn't try once. I tried switched from a social vegetarian to a full-time pescetarian but found myself less happy and healthy, so I'm researching ways to address that.
Six things I could never do without
(Please replace "could never do without" above to "prefer not to do without.")

pockets
a bicycle in good, running condition
needle and thread
computer+Internet access
a desire to learn
ginger milk tea - I'd put ginger in everything from cereal to birthday cake if I thought it would improve the taste.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
- how to make library policies and practices more efficient
- the digitization of literature, libraries, and databases
- linguistics
- bartering and non-standard forms of currency (Ex: tacos!)
- transhumanism
- kinetic sculptures
- biospheres; co-housing; tiny house; underground living
- spelunking; ocean exploration; space exploration
- old technology Ex: Antithykera mechanism
On a typical Friday night I am
... error, does not compute
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There's very little off-limits to me. I have an active Fetlife account. I find The Red Green Show hysterically funny. I have been known to sing the theme song of Schnappi das Kleine Krokodil complete with hand gestures.
You should message me if
... you're neither misogynistic nor misandrist. These are deal-breakers with me.

Some more points that raise compatibility but aren't deal-breakers:
... you don't use the terms "boys" or "girls" to refer to men or women respectively
... you wear pragmatic, comfortable shoes (or rarely wear shoes)
... you often have a good time without drinking alcohol
... you voted in both your local and national elections
... you don't carry or own a firearm

I love hearing from people outside of the greater Austin area as well as inside of it.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Other
--
Dating
--
Sex
--
Ethics
--
Religion