lpjenn
35 Halifax, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
lpjenn
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
First: I'm empathic, kinda quirky, and an attentive partner/lover. I adore learning new stuff and connecting with people. Regular, respectful communication is very important to me, as is emotional awareness, touch, and understanding the importance of language/the words we choose.

Second: My freelance work often involves editing leftist academic material -- so ideally we'd have similar politics and you're at least somewhat aware of grammar and spelling.

Beyond that: I'm queer and solo poly. My (now ex-)wife and I opened up our marriage a number of years ago, but we later decided that after almost 8 years together, we'd each be able to grow best living apart. So, we've transitioned to a good friendship.

Although I don't have space in my life for many partners, given the fluidity of my attractions as well as my sexual politics, I can't do monogamy. Therefore, I'd like to find someone with whom to explore polyamory in the context of a longer-term, supportive relationship. However, I also have lots on the go career- and life-wise, and you should, too.
What I’m doing with my life
Some of the stuff that keeps me busy (generally): a full-time publishing job, freelance editing and indexing work, part-time school courses, owning an old house and trying to fix it up, training for duathlons and marathons, learning/practicing Spanish, going dancing at least once a week, connecting with my loved ones, reading, self-reflection, doing random community/artsy stuff, writing, seeing live music/bands, cycling trips.
I’m really good at
...noticing spelling and grammatical booboos, sketching the human form, running long distances (the other week I ran 30 km in 2:20), being aware of my feelings, cleaning up after messy people (...really need to stop that...).
The first things people usually notice about me
Maybe my height...? Also that I'm usually pretty friendly.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like so many books/authors, obviously, from Toni Morrison to Murakami, and Chomsky to Freire...but Ivan Coyote, Audre Lorde, and bell hooks seem to pop up a lot on my night table.
I'm not a huge mainstream movie or TV person, but when I DO watch movies, they're usually documentaries.
A lot of my daytime music comes from Radio 3, but I also regularly go out dancing to salsa, funk, and older hip hop.
I couldn't live without apples. (I eat, like, five a day. Seriously.) And, as it says on the right panel, I'm vegan.
The six things I could never do without
As listed above, apples. Time outside, preferably in a forest or by a body of water. Music/dancing. The people I love. Books. Running.

Also? Reiki. And my bicycle. And my journal.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...gender and sexuality, politics, systems of privilege and oppression (and how my existence intersects with those), various social justice issues, how much of a train-wreck we're on environmentally, co-operatives, anarchism and philosophical stuff, where my food comes from, my family and friends (and connecting with them), caring for others and myself, how to be more conscious and present in my daily existence and actions.

And what the heck I could be doing to be a good person on this planet.
On a typical Friday night I am
Dancing. Or having tea with someone. Or editing. Or asleep, exhausted from a busy week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have quite a few scars on my body and some interesting stories behind them. I actually got a new one in July, too.
You should message me if
...if you have an awareness of (and can own) your emotions and vulnerabilities. If your conversations tend to be deep and/or meandering. If you can talk matter-of-factly about sex (especially practicing safer sex) and sexuality. And, obviously, if you think we'd click or whatever. :)
Fyi, I will not respond to messages that basically just say, "Hey, baby." Frankly, everyone deserves more respect and intellectual engagement.
More