29Leeds, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Just finished my PhD looking at non-binary gender identities - if you identify as Non-Binary/Genderqueer and are interested it'd be lovely to chat!

If you want to just potentially be friends with me that's great! If you're attracted to what you see, also great! Just to put it out there, I'm in a committed relationship, but also polyamorous. If this makes you uncertain, ask me about it and I'll try to clarify my position :)

I often love a good talk - about anything, so long as it's enthusiastic and thoughtful! I try to have a broad range of interests including playing the piano, oil painting, drawing, and reading, but also love more occasional activities like long walks, or a good cocktail bar. I can be a little softly spoken, but I tend to open up a lot with a little encouragement!

Oh, also, I'm into chess, so if you play I'd be happy to give you a game.

Also, I'm up to speed on queer and trans issues, and I'm non-binary and queer.
What I’m doing with my life
I graduated from Cambridge with a degree in Genetics in 2009, I've had a gap year in London to see what sort of life there is in the city - including a 3 month internship with a charity which was an excellent experience. I've a Master's degree (also at Cambridge) in Multi-disciplinary Gender Studies. It was fascinating and I love that I've been enriched with a completely different discipline, which confirmed a change in career direction away from natural sciences. Since that finished I worked as a receptionist to earn some cash and work out the next step, and I've just finished my PhD in Sociology and Social Policy at Leeds.

I also write a blog on gender and sexuality issues. Even if you don't message me, check it out - you might enjoy :)
I’m really good at
I suppose I'm a bit of a jack-of-all-trades. One of my favourite hobbies is a little unusual - I really love trivia, and pub quizzes, I just love learning *stuff*. I seem to be very good at saying things that can be construed in a really, really dirty way.
The first things people usually notice about me
Well, at 6' 4'', it's got to be the height. Something that I've been very privileged to be told is that I'm easy for people to feel confortable with when they're talking with me, so I've managed to bond with a fair few people who are often very shy and introverted.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Yikes. Well, I like to try and sample a wide range of all of these things. I rarely read a book more than once, but I've really enjoyed things ranging from Richard Dawkins (though now I find him very problematic) to Anne Rice. I probably read more non-fiction than any other genre. I also often have several different books on the go at the same time. I have a huge 'to read' pile...

Favourites include Bad Science, 1984, The Spire, and The Thirteen and a Half Lives of Captain Bluebear :)

Music, I do have a big bias towards classical piano, though I play more than I listen. Favourites include Bach, Chopin and Rachmaninoff (I'll also put Rachmaninov for the benefit of the spelling sensitive 'things in common' highlighter) - But I also absolutely adore everything the band Sigur Ros has done. Regina Spektor is fun also. I play the piano and I'm a (classical) singer. Working on learning Bach's Goldberg variations is something of a life goal, which I'm slowly but surely getting there with.

Top 5 movies (roughly): Angels in America, The Incredibles, V for Vendetta, The History Boys, and Stardust. Others I have a soft spot for include Interview with the Vampire and A Beautiful Mind. Also more generally really like ridiculous brainless action movies. Anything with Arnie or Willis or Stallone beating the crap out of everything will probably keep me sated.

Food - Chinese, (mild) Indian, and *anything* of high quality. Exploring loads of intricate dishes at great restaurants would be awesome fun, prohibitive costs aside!
Six things I could never do without
1) The support of family, especially my mother and partner.

2) 'The Arts' - I love stumbling upon stuff that makes me feel all sorts of things. Anything from the colours in a Monet to a sauce on a dessert. Experiences, emotions. Yes please.

3) Anime, accompanied by tea and chocolate. I love to laugh, even if I don't do it out loud all that much. I like to get snuggly, and vegetate for long periods with something excellent on.

4) Thought provoking friends. Discussion about something academic with wine or liqueur late into the night massively trumps clubbing for me. I like people who introduce me to new things and give me reasons to really respect them.

5) The occasional plate of food that just makes you go 'oh my god' with yum. Being a food critic would be great. I like basically everything (except celery, and coffee. And I might have them even, if they're there). I rarely like to cook though, just because I find it hard to put longer into making something than it then takes to be eaten. I occasionally enjoy baking things though...

6) Stuff to learn. Gimme facts. Trivia. Also broaden my horizons, and make me re-evaluate my positions on issues. I believe that self-improvement is a really important thing, and feeling like I'm trying to do so makes me happy.

For keen people who just-can't-get-enough:

7) Golden summer evenings. Happy teenage memories of just hanging around with friends, perfect temperature and smells of things like grass makes this the ultimate setting for so many kinds of happy. Including numbers '4' and potentially '5'. I also really like running in that sort of weather, with mellow and inspirational music on.

8. One measure of cane syrup
One measure of Grenadine
One measure of lemon juice
One measure of Disaronno Amaretto
Shake with ice, pour over ice and top up with ginger beer, add a maraschino cherry. It's like drinking sweets.

I might keep adding to this list as things come to me...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything, anything! I'm very introspective. Can be a bit of a daydreamer sometimes.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably on the sofa, on the internet, or watching something. I'm a homebody.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
For now? that my name is Ben. :)
You should message me if
You're young (20s preferably), and passionate about anything. Happiness and chattiness are great ways to grab my attention. Especially if you're witty and inquisitive about it.

OR if you see that I'm online and aren't too sure what to put in a message, do give me a shout using the okcupid chat function, I'm all too often sat on my laptop hoping for nice chat.

Challenge me! :D
The two of us