38San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am taking time off to travel and enjoy the good life after leaving a big tech company to strike out on my own. I'd love to meet someone for some short term experiences at first, and explore more of the city I lived and loved in, then left some years ago. I come back to SF at least a few times a year. I'd love to meet someone new to share some good times and sweet nights with this winter. I'm off to places like India then Australia-NZ and/or South America (Chile, Peru, Brasil, Ecuador) and SE Asia (Thailand Cambodia Laos Vietnam) in 2013, so right now I may just be passing through. Long term, who knows. I'd also love to meet a great travel companion.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I am turning myself into something of an e commerce consultant, after many years in the high tech biz. This means I set my own schedule and do some traveling, where I always want to meet new people, explore new places, whether it's west coast to east, North America to South America, and over to Asia and Europe when possible.

I'm also working on the largest, widest, most challenging writing project of my life, and it's fiction too, so it's absorbing my creative energies and free time lately (when I'm not dating, naturally).
I’m really good at
making people laugh, checking out cool new bars and restaurants, picking good movies, making ladies feel appreciated
The first things people usually notice about me
Lately, the beard I am not showing in my profile pic. I just grew it for winter! It looks good, trust me. My hair is a little longer in winter, but not crazy long. It looks good, trust me. I'll load a new pic soon.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love film noir, Kubrick movies, PT Anderson (Magnolia, Punch Drunk Love) David Lynch (Blue Velvet, Lost Hwy). Music wise, live blues and bluegrass tend to keep me happy, but I love punk and many other kinds of music, depending on my mood.

Food -- sushi, Italian, Moroccan, mexican, french.

Lately I read novels and non fiction about countries I plan to visit in the near future. Too many to list.
Six things I could never do without
1 -- spontaneity/ free spirits
2 -- integrity/ honesty
3 -- the ability to write
4 -- stimulating and engaging conversation
5 -- friends and family in regular contact
6 -- hiking boots /snowboards/ kayaks (3 things? sorry)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I miss about SF and what I plan to do next when I arrive in town
On a typical Friday night I am
On a plane or starting a road trip, although by late Friday night, I hope to be somewhere already!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My name isn't really Mark, that's a historical reference to someone else. I'm a bit of a Watergate buff, 40 years after the break in, I know. Kinda hard to explain.
You should message me if
You're not looking for anything too serious right now, but who knows later on down the line, and you love to travel BUT also know where you think you want to go, maybe even when and with whom...woo hoo that would be perfect.
The two of us