29Austin, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in Austin, but went to the northeast for college. Now that I'm back, I'm working as an art and social studies teacher at a local private school. I was very proud to hear earlier today that one of my students was talking to his mom about the long-term implications of Putin's incursions in Ukraine. Teacher candy!
What I’m doing with my life
Lots of lesson planning. I'm really enjoying being back in Austin and exploring everything the city has to offer people over the age of eighteen. My roommate and I are also learning the mambo routine in Dirty Dancing. I cannot emphasize enough how important it is to me that nobody puts Baby in the corner.
I’m really good at
Writing, walking around Town Lake (I feel I bring a certain je ne sais quoi to the process), painting, spotting racism in Disney movies, shooting the breeze until all hours
The first things people usually notice about me
I have weirdly good posture - the legacy of years of martial arts training.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite authors (do not judge me, I read for escapism): In the fantasy genre, I like Lois McMaster Bujold, Lynn Flewelling, and Patrick Rothfuss. In other genres, David Foster Wallace is my idol (Everyone should read his essay "Big Red Son" about the porn awards in Las Vegas), and David Sedaris is wonderful. Ooh, also, I'm a big fan of non-fiction about science or history. The Disappearing Spoon, which is about the periodic table of the elements, is particularly wonderful.

Favorite Movies: The Fountain, Good Will Hunting, Adams Family Values, Pride and Prejudice - basically anything halfway decent that does not involve zombies

TV Shows: Arrested Development, Buffy, Parks and Recreation, Veronica Mars, The West Wing, Game of Thrones

Music: Your typical mix of indie bands and oldies

Food: Whatever
Six things I could never do without
1. My family and friends
2. Books
3. Politics
4. Movies and television
5. NPR
6. Conversations about the above
I spend a lot of time thinking about
politics, movies, T.V., the feminist implications of various vampire-related media, how to get that next book from the library, when the next podcast of Culturetopia is coming out, what to do with my life, etc.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably hanging out with friends at a potluck or dancing downtown. I also like to stay in and watch movies.
You should message me if
You don't smoke (except maybe once every few months when you're drinking). No judgment! I'm just not fond of the smell.
The two of us