55Dayton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Thanks for looking up my bio. This is revision #2 or #3. In my previous summary I emphasized a sort of fitness journey that I have been on for a number of years. I was trying to capture and convey how cool it is to get out of a funk and into the sweet spot of daily life. I'm an interesting, creative person and feel ready to meet someone to have fun with in this post-married period of life which seems so ripe with possibilities. Many of my family, friends and co-workers comment that I seem happier than I have been in years and I really appreciate all of them for noticing this. Its a little humbling being age 50 and having to pimp myself out a little bit to put my best foot forward. Professionally I work as an RN in Dayton and am proud of the career that I have built. I choose to not go on about that and I get extra exuberant discussing my love of all things bicycling. It's been a long winter and I haven't been on a road bike since late November and this is a little bit like this dating drama - a feeling of love that you know will bloom again, and that staying patient will yield sublime rewards...
What I’m doing with my life
After divorcing about 3 years ago, I was fatigued and overweight. Eventually realizing that nightly dinners of Marie Callender's jumbo pot pies were not cutting it (did you ever read the nutrition information on one of those? They have like 70 grams of fat!) it was time to re-think the gameplan. Gradually I've revved up the throttle & learned how to activate it. Then weight just started falling off naturally which feels so much better. I've used this new found fitness to help bolster my self confidence with sometimes funny, or regretful results. When it comes to befriending women its like I'm a little kid. I confuse the endorphins of working out with the rush you get when you start getting interested in someone. And as I said, sometimes the resulting mixed message that I send means a promising future relationship might not get off the ground. Outside of the three 12 hour day shifts a week that I work, I find myself with some blanks on my planner. I love doing exercise classes on my days off and will try to fit at least one spinning class in every day. Its sweet the way that doing spin classes on a regular basis develops your ability to climb and sprint, something you just don't get out and do every day. Some friends who watched me lose a ton of weight would like to see me push the fitness in more of a "buff" direction with heavier weights. I'm just happy to see myself still getting better and love how dropping the weight restores how vibrant you feel.
I’m really good at
Listening, but talking - not so much (ahh..actually this is a lie - I'm an average listener and, when you get me started a huge talker). I'm good at mechanical things. I'm good at cycling, its something I can do alone, in groups of 2 or 3, or groups of 3,000. Lately I seem to want to do the wrenching on the bikes, building bikes for others (and myself) too few of which I give away. I do a fair amount of yard work and gardening and my mother told me I have a "green thumb" - I don't know about that but in the past I was the kind of person who could have a really good vegetable garden if I put in the hours of love and enthusiasm required.
The first things people usually notice about me
People tell me they like the odd way I express myself. They say I'm a creative person, others have said I remind them of John Malkovich (?!) - or Kevin Spacey because of the way I talk, Vince Gill (looks) or "commander data"- for the way I'm analytical at times.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like reading but often go for months without picking up a good book. Has to do with being so visual and hands on, that often I'd rather look at an exploded diagram or spec sheet. When I do get immersed its usually something metaphysical like Robert Pirsig's "Zen & the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance", or non-fiction by Stacy Kidder about building a house or "No Logo" by Naomi Klein where she uncovers a vast conspiracy of American greed.

I barely go to movies except with my 14 year old daughter. And often we can't agree on anything because she thinks she wants horror. It was easier when she was 8! I really would like to see "The Hobbit" but need a date!

I love alternative and independent music of many types. Back in the day I made the best mix tapes. Epic, surprising, even humorous music that tells a story. Instrumental jazz, funk with an infectious beat. I love to listen to good old 2 channel stereo and try to re-create live music in my living room. It was a lot of fun this past year listening to MC 900ft Jesus, Jamiroquai, Cranes, The Cure - "Live in Paris", Imogen Heap and Bee and Flower on my stereo. I'm on a 20 year quest to un-ravel digital music to liberate it from the iPod.

I wouldn't mind trying to eat more healthy and try different ethnic and health foods. I've been told I'm a pretty original cook, especially since I have great difficulty following a recipe without adding my own ingredients as substitutes. Must, stay, away, from ice cream though - I love it to a fault.
Six things I could never do without
1) Spontaneous moments with My 2 daughters,
2) my job - edit, heck with that - one day I'll walk away & feel great about not looking back 3) my road bikes (The Saint Tropez, The Flyte SRS-3, & The Cannondale R1000) 4) the "Turbomatic" saddles that I fit each bike with 5) my Philips Sonicare ultrasonic toothbrush, & 6) it's got to be the iPhone.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How fleeting the important moments in life seem to be. And I think about timing. Meeting a new person doesn't seem predictable at all. I can only conclude that the cosmos (or God) is conspiring to allow everyone to take 2 steps forward only to take 2 steps back.
On a typical Friday night I am
Wanting to listen to some music or hang out. Often I just crash out of pure fatigue from the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I make my own home-made herbal "man" deodorant.
You should message me if
I'm interested in companionship and friendship. I would love to set up some dates in Cincinnati for Reds games, or live music. I would love to find a lady training partner near me who wants to do cycling on the road +/or bikepath. If I could find a companion that would like to do the Great Ohio Bike Adventure (GOBA) well that would be a healthy, fun vacation to plan for which is also kid friendly as well. If you're not in to that, that's cool too. Wouldn't mind trying other types of working out either.
The two of us