mattburb9
33 Austin, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
mattburb9
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have my life pretty much set up the way I like it- a great dog, a stimulating job, and friends and family to share my hobbies and interests with. If I could find an awesome girl to add to all of that, it would be nice.
What I’m doing with my life
Professionally, I'm a manager for a major retailer. I have my own little store where I get to lead a hardworking group of people, test new ideas and manage profitability.

In my free time, I enjoy sports. I play in a baseball league during the summer. We play about a 25 game season and the talent level is pretty solid. About a year ago I joined a weekly dodgeball league where I rediscovered the joy of launching balls at people. My fall Saturdays are spent watching UT football. I grew up a fan and have had season tickets for 10 years now. The last few years have been tough, but I'm optimistic about the future.

My other big interest/obsession is craft beer. I love trying new beers and have a phone app to keep track of it. If there's a contest to try as many different beers as possible, I'm in. A few years ago, my friends and I bought some brew equipment. The beer turned out pretty good, which led to buying more sophisticated equipment, and then automated equipment. For whatever flaws you may find in me, I can promise that if you date me, you will be well supplied with good beer.

I also like plenty of other stuff and am always open to trying new things. Hopefully you will have some fun interests of your own to share.
I’m really good at
ping pong
brewing beer
mowing the lawn
solving problems
managing finances
reading quickly
getting stuff off the top shelf
creating excel spreadsheets
saying witty things (in person only, but not in emails on OkCupid apparently)
The first things people usually notice about me
is probably the beard. Let me know if it is something else.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books- Game of Thrones, Atlas Shrugged, Moneyball, Tom Clancy.

Movies- Terminator, Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Back to the Future.

TV- Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Band of Brothers. Reruns of Seinfeld, Cheers, King of the Hill.

Music- Concerts I can think of off the top of my head and enjoyed: Iron Maiden, Megadeth, Reckless Kelly, Chris Knight, Volbeat, Lacuna Coil, Hammerfall, Black Sabbath, Midnight River Choir, Bart Crow, Judas Priest, Black Label Society, Def Leppard, Poison, Ozzy Osbourne, Queensryche, Black Label Society, Alice in Chains, Kenny Wayne Shepherd.

Food- Over the last few months I've focused on trying to eat healthy, but I still enjoy all my old favorites. I'm a big fan of BBQ, chicken fried steak, Mexican food, seafood. Really, if it is some sort of meat prepared in some sort of delicious way, I'm in. If you can manage to throw in some melted cheese with it, even better. I'll try just about any food once.
The six things I could never do without
my dog
air conditioning
meat
laughter
my friends and family
challenges
I spend a lot of time thinking about
- where I want to go in life and how I can get there
- how to do things more efficiently and effectively
- why people refuse to act rationally
On a typical Friday night I am
usually hanging out with friends, drinking a few beers and probably brewing more beer to drink later. And if my friends' girlfriends won't let them hang out, I go on a good run with my dog Shadow.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have 4 pet mice. I originally got them and set up a mouse racing/gambling event, but now I like to just let them run on their wheels and nibble on pieces of food. This isn't really a secret, but when I imagine women and mice, I think of old Tom and Jerry cartoons with the lady standing on a chair yelling "eek" as Jerry runs by. Just a heads up if you are that type of girl.
You should message me if
you are an attractive, fun lady who has her life together and might like to get a beer with me at some point.
More