mauichef
42 Kula, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
mauichef
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Fairly new to Maui & looking to meet cool people for fun adventures!
What I’m doing with my life
Manifested my DREAM job cooking on a biodynamic farm in Kula, so I am focused on that aspect of my life. Also starting my own garden at home in Kula, stoked about that. Otherwise, just looking for new adventures & exploring Maui, hiking, camping, getting in the ocean as much as possible, learning new sports like surfing/SUP, & just relaxing my mind and letting the good things happen.
I’m really good at
Cooking practically anything, connecting with people, laughing about something ridiculous, being spontaneous (road trip!), & keeping my word.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm usually in a good mood & smiling..
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: 'Heat' by Bill Buford; 'The Physiology of Taste' by Brillat-Savarin; 'The Art of Eating', by MFK Fisher; any Michael Chabon; 'Tao Te Ching' by Lao Tzu

Music: The Shins; The Sea & Cake; Rodrigo y Gabriela; The Clash; Neutral Milk Hotel; Bob Dylan; Fugazi; Stevie Wonder; The Black Keys; Modest Mouse; The Gossip; Santigold; Galactic; Peter Bjorn & John; The White Stripes; Aretha Franklin; Marvin Gaye; Nirvana; The Beatles; RJD2; Ben Harper; Tortoise; The Roots; St. Vincent; Miike Snow; Man or Astroman?; Ozomatli; Matisyahu, etc..

Food: pretty much anything fresh, well-prepared, local, & seasonal (I try not to be tooooo 'food snobby', but I've spent 22 years in professional kitchens, so I have my opinions..)
The six things I could never do without
1} My 10" Japanese chef's knife & ceramic sharpening rod
2} My glasses/contacts (ha, should be #1 I guess)
3} My Biodiesel Jetta (seriously, this island would be tough w/o a good reliable car & mine gets 40 mpg AND biodiesel is 75 cents a gallon cheaper than reg. diesel!)
4} My Android smartphone (just stating the obvious, these things are like a 3rd appendage anymore..)
5} Sense of humor!
6} Hearing/seeing the humpback whales (at least for 1/2 the year, the other 1/2 is for baseball season)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My future here on Maui, & getting healthy/learning new things
On a typical Friday night I am
Watching movies or seeing live music if possible, otherwise reading probably
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
That I'm on the fence about having kids. I used to think of how amazing it would be, now I look at a few other very important factors & think: "Maybe not having kids of my own is a better idea".. Adoption really seems like a much better solution to me at the right time in my life.
You should message me if
You want to go somewhere off the beaten path & see some of the natural beauty of the island. And eat something delicious along the way!
More