mcdavitt
60 Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
mcdavitt
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m a boyish but mature male living in central Edinburgh. I’ve had two long-term relationships but have been single now for nearly two years

I like mountains, traditional music and old books. Don’t much like television, crowds and bankers. I’m unconventional and reasonably adventurous and will try most things (except bungee-jumping and ballroom dancing). I like to visit new places—even nearby. I’ve travelled a fair bit but nowadays mostly go to the west coast. I try to get to Dublin and London every so often.

I’m quite witty, humorous, sociable and reasonably comfortable in most types of company and have a lot of friends, but only a few I’m very close to. I like walking, museums and galleries, going to the pub and watching rugby. I play squash, tennis, snooker and chess (all badly). I used to be a climber, but content myself mostly now to just looking at the hills!

I was previously head of a university department, but now I spend most of my time writing. My main academic interests are in folk song, ballads and Scottish cultural history, but I also write fiction—and detective fiction under a pseudonym. I’ve worked in universities in Scotland, England, Wales and the United States, but I’m settled in Edinburgh now and regard it as my home (I’m actually from the east end of Glasgow)—although sometimes I think I’d like to move to somewhere different, maybe in Argyll or thereabouts.

I REALLY WANT to meet someone who will be absolutely devoted to me and want to move to near the mountains so we can spend the rest of our lives together dedicated to art and literature and walking the dog by the sea.

FAILING THAT, someone I can out with and have fun with would be a decent start!!

So that’s me.
The six things I could never do without
Literature
Art
Wine

(Oh, I have to come up with more).

Mountains
Scottish weather (I know!)
Sleep (I need a lot!)
More