mcolarus
35 Milwaukee, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
mcolarus
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I am a math professor with broad interests. I am looking to meet an intellectual girl that I can have fun with and with whom I can have interesting conversations and enjoy the outdoors.

Over the last ten years, I have lived all over North America from San Diego to Quebec City and many places in between. I have really enjoyed the experiences I have had in getting to know different parts of the continent and have met some really interesting people along the way.

I come from a very international and academic family with whom I remain very close. I am the product of an Italian-American father, a Jewish mother, and a Japanese step-father. I have travelled extensively around the world, including many summers spent in Japan with my relatives and research trips to China and India with my folks. I still love to travel on vacation and recently have been to Turkey, Belgium, Austria, Germany, and Italy.

Despite being a mathematician and an academic, I am not a hyper-geek. My sister-in-law insists that I am one of the funniest people she has ever met. I gave a speech at my teacher’s 70th birthday banquet that had everyone rolling on the floor with laughter. Many of my colleagues have told me that I am basically normal, but in math circles that is probably an insult .

I really love spending time in nature and enjoy running, hiking, and visiting new parks. I love winter sports. I grew up in Canada and the woods in the winter hold a special place in my heart . Some of my favourite sports are cross-country skiing and snowshoeing.

I also like the lights and action of the city. In my spare time, I love going out to new restaurants and pubs with my friends. I enjoy the finer things in life: good cheese, wine, whiskey, craft beer, and listening to classical music. Nothing makes me happier than a good night out on the town with stimulating conversation and several laughs over a good bottle of red (or several bottles).

I really like talking about politics, current affairs, and history. I subscribe and read several different newspapers and magazines. I am following this election season very closely and praying that Trump doesn’t win and hopefully loses big time.

To summarize, I am basically a Northeast liberal, Jewish-Japanese intellectual, who is often mistaken in bars and on the street for Jerry Seinfeld, although I do not claim to be as funny as he is .

If this sounds interesting, feel free to drop me a line and we can chat.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a math prof at UWM. I teach grad students and do research in pure math.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love food; especially different types of ethnic food; Indian, Chinese, Italian, and the list goes on.

I am an avid non fiction reader. Really enjoyed "A Civil Action" by Jonathan Harr. I just finished reading "1861" by Adam Goodheart and "In the Garden of Beasts" by Michael Larson. I also enjoy historical fiction, especially David Liss' books.

I have watched too many great movies to list here. But some of my favourites are: Good-bye Lenin, Apocalypse Now, Das Boot, Lawrence of Arabia.

On the less serious side: Caddy shack, Zoolander, My Cousin Vinny, Beverley Hills Cop.
The six things I could never do without
Enjoy going out to pubs and new restaurants. Love to go for walks and hikes in the woods or along the lake. Also enjoy staying in an watching movies after cooking a good meal with some good wine. In the winter: love to XC ski.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
besides math: politics and history.
On a typical Friday night I am
Enjoying dinner with some great friends or having a beer at a cool pub. I also enjoy staying in with a good bottle of wine or whiskey and watching a movie or sports.
More