64Van Nuys, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a third generation Californian, a retired CEO, homeowner, commercial landlord, regular voter, thoughtful neighbor, loving son, favorite uncle, artist, and incurable wool-gatherer.

I've been married twice before; for five years in my early twenties, and ten years in my thirties. While there have been other women in my life since then, for most of the last twenty years I've been single by choice ...or perhaps lack of choice. I have only encountered a very few available (legally, morally, geographically, and emotionally) women whom I have been interested in pursuing. Perhaps I am overly selective, and (with a few exceptions) generally loath to consider regularly commuting more than a few miles from home looking for love.

By way of personal qualifications, I can say that I'm financially independent though relatively frugal in my mindset; I'd rather save to invest in real property, art, or equities than purchase luxury cars, toys, or expensive vanity items. I don't consider myself particularly well-traveled, although I have done some consulting work in Japan, have vacationed in the Society Islands, cruised in the Caribbean, visited much of the Mexican Pacific Coast, bopped into Canada several times, and lived in or traveled through 39 of the lower 48 states at some point in my life. In fact, at 17, before entering University in the early 1970s, I hitchhiked from coast to coast just for the experience.

These days I'm quite content to stay relatively close to home or the family ranch, but would love to have an excuse to discover Paris or explore more of Latin America with a fluent companion who was at least as interested in the local culture, art and architecture, history and cuisines as in the quality of service by the hotel poolside.

By default I've learned to become a pretty good (and occasionally inspired) cook, a generous sommelier, an adequate char, and an inadequate (but willing) gardener. I love to read (a daily newspaper and multiple internet extracts, a dozen magazines, and 3 or 4 novels each month), am passionate about oil-painting and wood sculpture when I'm not renovating a property, and try to work in a couple of laps around Lake Balboa or a nice bike ride every rain-free day. (Or, when I'm at the ranch in Oregon, I get a pretty good workout just keeping the garden beds in shape, tackling building projects, and hiking to the mailboxes.)

The only thing missing is you.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a number of passions ranging from business interests, investments, realty, the visual arts, cooking, and, of course, the opposite sex. The priority relies on the timing, the market, and the individuals involved.
I’m really good at
Finding creative solutions to everyday problems, managing my finances, and making art and culture an ongoing part of my life.
I'm grateful to have the intelligence to work through most problems, the resources to make most of my fixes work, and that the Christmas shopping season is limited to 30 days per year.
The first things people usually notice about me
I think most people find me to be creative, articulate, intelligent and perceptive.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I frequently read two or 3 novels per week for recreation, a daily newspaper or two, and a slew of magazines. Over the years my tastes in literature have become pretty broad and unrefined, and I'm just as likely to pick up something provocative and instructive like Tom Kelley's "Art of Innovation" or Richard Schmid's "Alla Prima" as a Tony Hillerman or PD James or Walter Mosely series novel. As for the last really GOOD book that I read, that would probably be "White Oleander", which I thought was an amazing first novel for a relatively young writer. Other favorites: Bellow, Dos Passos, Nabokov, Robert Penn Warren, John O'Hara, Kesey, et al. All time favorite was probably John Fowles' "The Magus"...but the only people whom I have ever met who are familiar with the book became so because I gifted them a copy.

Admittedly, music does not really provide the soundtrack to my life, and my tastes are all over the map: I'm most likely to listen to Joni Mitchell, Bonnie Raitt, Eric Clapton, Traffic, ELO, and Michael Buble, or Chris Isaak, or Roy Orbison, or Chuck Mangione, or the Gipsy Kings, or the Rippingtons, Chopin's Preludes Opus 28 #4 in Eminor, Beethoven's Pathetique. While I'm most likely to be listening to an audio book on a long road trip, sometimes you just have to open the sunroof and crank up the Beach Boys and Jimmy Buffett and occasionally Shania Twain if you are headed for a happy place with good company.

Some people turn on their stereo the moment they walk in their door at home; I'm more likely to turn on the TV and allow it to play in the background as I go about daily chores, making meals, and sorting mail. Usually I'm tuned to the home improvement channels during the day unless there is something significant breaking in the news or in the financial markets. But I also love watching the great old black and white mysteries and film noir classics.
Six things I could never do without
Hope that tomorrow will be a better day;
Sun on my skin;
Complex wine, earthy bread, and fragrant olive oil;
An interesting plot twist;
Good art;
Long smouldering kisses.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where you are hiding.
On a typical Friday night I am
Circumstances permitting, I prefer to leave Friday and Saturday night dating to the amateurs. Let's go out on a week-night when the traffic is lighter and restaurants are quieter. Or better yet, come on over and I'll cook you dinner and we'll find a good movie to curl up with and watch.
You should message me if
While I am always flattered when you make the initial effort to get my attention, please be aware that I much prefer geographic proximity when it comes to dating. If you think we would be a likely match then I hope you live VERY locally, so that we can easily and readily enjoy getting together. Ideally, you live in the West San Fernando Valley. That means, if you live in the Los Angeles area, please be North of Mulholland, West of the Hollywood Freeway, South of the Santa Susanna Mountains, and East of Agoura. In Oregon, where I spend at least 3 months out of the year at the family Ranch, please reside in the Rogue Valley near Medford and the River. Time's too precious to waste it solo-commuting when we could be together instead.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * WARNING to any person and/or institution using this website or any of its associated websites: You do NOT have permission to utilize any of my profile information, nor any of the content contained herein including but not limited to my photos. You are hereby notified that you are strictly prohibited from using, copying, disseminating, or taking any other action with regard to this profile and the contents herein. The foregoing prohibitions also apply to your employee(s), agent(s), student(s) or any personnel under your direction or control. This profile contains confidential information that is private and legally privileged. Violation of my personal information is punishable by law.

Note: OKCupid is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once, it will be tacitly allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.
The two of us