42Auburn Hills, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Okay, well, first off, I am rather verbose. You've been warned.

I just graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Anthropology and I'm looking for a job. I have two children, a dog, a cat, two birds, four firebellied toads and a fish who cannot die named Dr. Scott. I don't sleep enough and I probably eat too much. But I have cool dreams and I'm an excellent cook, so it works out.

I am very spiritual, but not Wiccan dispite what that test says. I'm kind of hard to label- A pantheistic, polytheistic, anscestor-worshipping mystical animist. I talk to my cat, my car and the occasional tree, especially when they're bothering me. I thank everything and everyone, tangible, animate or otherwise, who is remotely involved with anything good that happens to me and I talk about dead folks as if they were alive. People get used to it. It's part of my charm.

I am geeky, affectionate, and absent-minded
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, I'm suffering from separation anxiety brought upon by my graduation. I am searching for that awesome job I'm told comes with the degree... I have interviews coming up. I was thinking about teaching Social Studies, but I'm told Anthropology doesn't count as Social Studies. I'm having trouble getting my brain around that one, but settling for Gen Ed rather than going back to get a History degree (which I may yet do). I want to help young minds learn to be accepting of, if not passionate about, other cultures.

In the meantime, I work retail selling credit cards and clothing to women. I am violently opposed and riddled with guilt over the former, but enjoy the social aspect of the latter quite a bit.

I’m really good at
Research, writing, making people laugh (or scratch their heads in confusion).
The first things people usually notice about me
Haven't a clue. Someone should fill me in.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books I am rarely without a book and you will find books in various stages of being read throughout my house. I prefer nonfiction books about primates, culture, religion, magic, politics and evolution both fiction and non-fiction. But the fiction has to be really convincing and/or creative. JRR Tolkein, Niel Gaiman, Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Holt, Micheal Crichton and Douglas Adams all seem to do a pretty good job.

Movies I enjoy movies that evoke an emotional reaction, make me think or are just fun in a geeky sort of way. The Princess Bride, Labyrinth, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Natural Born Killers and The Lord of the Rings are some favorites. Also a big Micheal Moore fan. And I like educational-type documentaries too.

Music Don't ask me about music. It goes in phases. I love all kinds of music, but I'm especially fond of tribal drums.

Food I am addicted to peanut butter and banana sandwiches. On organic whole wheat, of course, with unsalted, unhydrogenated peanut butter.

Six things I could never do without
Okay... lessee...

Information, conversation, fuzzy things, green things, family and friends

I spend a lot of time thinking about
Are you ready for this?

What I'm going to do with my life now that I've graduated.

Do I really want to move to the East Coast when I've got such a good life and good friends here?

Why metro-Detroit has such abysmal public transportation.

The entymology of the word 'pussy' when applied to the female genetalia. Or the wimpy male for that matter.

How bipedality evolved in the human species. I don't buy that looking over grass business or even the tool use nonsense. I think it has more to do with male dominance displays. The feminists will hate me when I flesh this one out. Good thing I'm not a feminist.

How best to create a realistic ecology in an online RPG without killing the server and/or pissing off the player base.

Whether or not my dog has fleas, and how best to get rid of them.

Why I am completely unable to produce a decent loaf of homemade bread.

When I'm going to be able to get some sleep.

When I'm going to be able to sit down and write something interesting again. And when I'm going to finish all those books I started.

It would be really nice to get a big ole motor home and sell my house and just kind of migrate around. It'll make it easier to survive the impending end of the world as we know it. But where will I get one with a hybrid engine and solar panels?

Man it's lonely in this house without my college buddies sitting on my couch...

On a typical Friday night I am
Immobile. Saturday you might find me doing something though. If the sun is shining I might be out digging with my Archaeology buds, or drinking with them if it's not. If the moon is out I might be at a drum circle dancing with a whole different crowd.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not sure I'm ready for the 'real' world...
You should message me if
you are looking for a friend, either local or of the penpal, or chatpal persuasion. Males and females welcome. I'm not looking for a lover right now. I'll let you know if I decide to start taking applications, though any available position is likely to be filled from inside the organization before being opened up to the public.
The two of us