34London, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am Mikey. At a a push I could be a Michael (I used to be a Michael until I went to Uni) but never a Mike. Origin:Ukraine. Although, ethnically, I am Russian. But I don’t identify as either Russian or Ukrainian. It’s all terribly complicated. For instance, currently I am British with a lingering Russian accent (and no, I am not fluent in Ukrainian).

Random facts: I like bright colours; I don’t like sliced bread; I am learning French; I am not friends with alcohol; not a fan of facial hair; I don't like being described as a man (as opposed to a boy, guy, youth etc); I like growing up but don’t like growing old; I don’t get introversion or personal space (but I’ve been socially trained to deal with these); I am fairly oblivious to pop-culture references.

I am extroverted, complicated, and analytical
What I’m doing with my life
I am a former Maths student who went into legal pastures
and now I am working in a law firm in Central London. So
you can imagine I am all about logic, arguments, debates and not so
much about empathy and the like. Which is not to say I am not
supportive but I have only a limited amount of time for irrational
emo-ness (unless it’s my own, of course).

Not a huge fan of sports or countryside. That’s what British
boarding schools do to tender foreign thirteen year-olds ripped
from their mothers’ bosoms (ahem…). So yes. A hardcore urbanite,
me. As far as I am concerned going to Zone 3 requires crossing
immigration control.

I am quite an escapist. Day to day reality bores me. Hence my main
interests heavily favour science fiction, fantasy,
philosophy, high politics (in the form of reading the news
about the movements of political tectonics), pure science and
religion/theology (in my childhood I was groomed to be an
acolyte and one of my parents’ means of dealing with my coming out
was a mass exorcism; but lest there be any confusion, I am not at
all religious and am agnostic only by the strictest definition of
the word). Anything that can be described using phrases “period
drama”, “based on true events”, “gritty” etc. is immediately
subjected to scrutiny and is likely to be disapproved of. But not
if it’s quirky and cool enough.
I’m really good at
Thinking. Arguing. Philosophising. Analysing. Confusing. Learning.

I am fairly good with food. I love food. Not eating, mind you. Just food. Cooking, weird ingredients, food history, mindnumbingly expensive restaurants, cheap authentic dens, dinner parties, kitchen gadgets and of course people who get and appreciate that.

Music, on the other hand – not so much. I am a musical philistine, unfortunately. Any ignorance is crap and I’d love to correct that omission but it’s not my top priority. Oddly, I love dancing – that used to be one of my favourite pastimes until I got a full time job.
The first things people usually notice about me
Erm... height and accent? I used to be tremendously effervescent, which was also very noticeable but not sure that's so true anymore. I am not good with being chilled-out and that's fairly noticeable, I guess.
Six things I could never do without
Sleep. Food. Air. Shelter. Physical pleasure. Mental pleasure.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Abstract science (topology, quantum mechanics, measures and metrics, etc).

Abstract concepts (justice, free will, purpose of life, etc).

Current affairs.

New recipes, molecular gastronomy experiments, food history.

My relationships.

Games: CCG (collectible card games), board games and very occasionally computer games and RPG games (role playing).

Sexual fantasies.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably just flopping after work. But once recovered, I would probably be either meeting someone for a coffee, going to cinema, playing board games with friends. I'd like to say going clubbing or to a house party, which used to occupy a large chunk of my time, but in all honestly I've not done that in a while.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I lost my virginity to a female prostitute given to me as a present? I had to go through an exorcism in an attempt to turn me straight? I frequently prefer masturbation to sex? I don't like cumming very much? Really, there is very little I won't admit to so feel free to ask. If you really want to know, I have nothing against same-generation non-reproductive incest...
You should message me if
you are interested in new friendships.

Yes, I am aware that my profile says that I am single and this is a dating website, but that's more a by-product of ticking boxes than a reflection of my genuine priorities. My overriding objective is to expand and vary my social circle. To that end, I am really looking for people I can become good friends with, who can become friends with my existing friends and with whose friends I can become friends.

Sure flirting etc. can happen but I'd much rather it happened in the process of a developing friendship rather than as part of an internet-arranged date. (I am not a believer in drawing firm boundaries between friendships and relationships. As far as I am concerned whoever I end up spending my life with will have to have been one of my closest friends in the first place).
The two of us