39Bloomington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Chubby, bearded, tattooed, and awesome guy in a committed long-term non-monogamous partnership with user_name_face, and we have 2 young children. Mostly interested in meeting folks with shared values/interests and connect with radical and queer communities in the Hudson valley.

I enjoy eating, snuggling with my animals, and the various activities that take place in my bed. I'm a jaded anarchist who struggles to hold onto hope for revolutionary societal change, though I have shifted the brunt of my energy to working and manipulating the existing systems to improve conditions in people's day to day lives.
What I’m doing with my life
Social worker by trade.

I am also learning how to be a parent.

I view everything I do through the lenses of social justice and harm reduction.
I’m really good at
Being shy and modest yet verbose on social networking sites.
The first things people usually notice about me
tattoos if it's warm (primarily what gets noticed are my two sleeves; one of images from children's/YA books and the other of plants and insects), my dog if i'm out with her (a pitt/lab), and the fact that I have/wear several purple articles of clothing and accessories (apparently it's a big deal for a cisgender guy to do this)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like to read a lot, and all kinds. But I have not had as much time and energy to read as I would like since becoming a parent. I have recently read one thousands kid's books, the 'Rad Families' anthology, 'March' I and II graphic novels, 'Saga: Book 1' graphic novel, and the'Octavia's Brood: Science Fiction Stories from Social Justice Movements' anthology. I like everything from dystopian sci-fi/fantasy to memoirs about being 'anti-normative' to non-fiction/ theoretical social sciences to children's' books.

Music wise I'm all over the place. I had older sisters and my formative years took place during the 1980's; so I was raised on a healthy diet of new wave, classic rock, old school hip-hop, and glam/hair metal. Political/peace punk, riot grrrl, 90's hardcore, traditional ska/rocksteady, and a handful of 90's indie rock and grunge bands guided me through my teen years. I also love 90's hip hop and a smattering of more recent indie hip-hop. I have grown increasingly obsessed with metal over the years. It started with 80's thrash and 70's psych/stoner metal in my late teens, which lead to NWOBHM, then sludge/doom stuff, and now I even dabble in some of the more interesting (and less reactionary) death and black metal. I also can't enough of old school r&b; krautrock; garage rock; bluegrass; psychedelic rock and jazz cross-over; shoegaze; bebop; afrobeat; motown, memphis and northern soul; old country; tropicalia; delta blues; soul jazz; traditional folk; and even some 60's/70's country rock. And I'm sure I forgot a few things. Like I said all over the place.

In terms of film and television I prefer depressing ones about people with messed up lives, ones with muppets or muppet like creatures, ones about ordinary people living out rock star fantasies, and ones that inspire existential crises

Good food and spirits are really important to me. That's how I was raised. I am vegetarian and have been so for the vast majority of my life. I grew up with a hippie mom, a dad from the southwest US, and was surrounded by a large extended italian-american family . . . so there is really no cuisine I don't like. I'm really into good craft beer and affordable but amazing wine. I'm getting into finding relatively affordable top shelf whiskeys as well.
Six things I could never do without
my partner;
my kids;
my dog;
my blood family;
my chosen family;
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to be a parent and raise healthy, happy, and radical kids who will do awesome things to make the world a better place; which of the multitude of home repairs needed can my partner and I do and which do we need to hire a skilled professional to do; fires (in the wood stove and fire pit); my partner; relationships; social justice, oppression and privilege; harm reduction; my animals; my garden; prefigurative politics; transformative justice; radical applications of social work; feminism; intersectionality; kink and how to find folks willing to show me the ropes; how insanely complex and vulnerable our brains are and yet how successfully healing and empowering relationships can often times undo that harm
On a typical Friday night I am
Taking care of children and trying to figure out how to make food get into my mouth. Recovering from the work week. Watching netflix. Although occasionally I hang out with friends/family or go out to dinner or a show.
You should message me if
I am primarily looking to connect and establish community with fellow radicals, queers, harm reducers, lefty social workers, non-douchey people who go to metal shows, queer and/or radical parents, and other swell types who don't mind that hanging out with me may involve a small child (or children) in tow. If you can connect me with lefty community groups/organizations doing awesome work in the area, please do so.

Alternatively, if you can teach me how to ride a motorcycle or take me kayaking feel free to offer your services!
The two of us