minamie
34Palo Alto, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
minamie
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an ambivert that likes to bond with people. My favorite people are the ones I can have fun with no matter where I am. I love to banter and I love to delve deep into conversation but also be silly.

I come from a warm, generous family and my mom is like my best friend. I can be an emotional person, I'm highly sentimental, but I also think things through logically and aim towards being reasonable. I'm highly affectionate but also sometimes clumsy.

I lived in Japan for five years and have strong ties to the culture, but I promise I'm not too much of a weirdo. I mean, not that kind of weirdo, anyway.
What I’m doing with my life
I work at a children's bookstore. Books are my life. I run the events, and also work on the floor. I'm also an assistant to two different literary agents, so I'm quite immersed in the children's publishing world. I love what I do, and I'm very good at it, but the cost of living around here makes it tough.

I also work at a yarn store because I love to knit.
I’m really good at
I learn things quickly, and if I know how to do something, I'm incredibly efficient at it. I'm also good at asking questions about things I don't understand, and teaching the things that I do.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Book flavors:
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Graceling, The Lunar Chronicles, Harry Potter. Fantasy that doesn't involve elves and dwarves and swords and wars. Character-driven plots with fun dialogue and fluid writing. I still love high school romance. I read manga, too. 99% of the books I read are children's books, partially due to my job and partially because I just love them. I have a To Be Read pile a mile deep.

Movie flavors:
Disney movies, witty and comedic movies, high concept movies, dramas that explore social justice and other cultures. No horror though.

Shows:
If it's well acted or thought provoking I'll probably try it. I guess the common theme is "clever." I love Brooklyn 99 and Leverage, as well as Modern Family. Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, Ouran High School Host Club, and Hyouka are high on my list for anime.

Music:
I listen to the radio a lot. I like pop and celtic/folksy music. Basically things that are hooky or pretty. I almost always prefer a female vocalist. If you wanna hear one of my favorite musicians, copypasta KOKIA 記憶の光 into the YouTubes.

Food:
Italian (pasta!), Japanese (not just sushi), and American, mostly. I can be kind of picky! I'm also a wimp when it comes to spicy things so I avoid.
Six things I could never do without
Sleep. I am very grumpy if I haven't slept well.
My mom.
Enjoyable conversation.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Our political climate. (I'm anti-Trump.)
The world around me.
The media I consume.
Work.
How to be better.
Stuff.

But usually I'm a very in-the-moment person.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually cuddled up comfy at home. It's the end of a long work week, man! Who has the energy to be a party animal?

On my days off, I try to catch up with chores and do some nice things for myself. I see friends when I get a chance and go out to movies or dinner.
You should message me if
Basically, I'm looking for a partner in crime that feels at ease being a homebody but also wants to explore the world and discover all the beauty and weirdness out there, because dang, there is a lot of it.

Message me if you would go with me to Disney movies, if we could read stories aloud to each other, if we could play board games and video games, if we could go to museums, if we could go explore new places and take photographs and go on hikes, if curling up on rainy days with some tea and a movie sounds good.

I'll also probably want to knit you things, so be prepared for that.
More
The two of us
--
Dating
--
Lifestyle
--
Sex
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Religion