missliss55
60 Raleigh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
missliss55
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
You know the old adage, when you are getting in the pool, just jump/dive right in! You'll get used to the cold water quicker that way. Well, I'm just putting my toes in. Maybe, I'll dive in, but I'll more likely slowly ease myself in; I moved back to North Carolina in 2006 to care for my parents, who had recently moved back, also. My 27 year marriage was officially over in Jan, 2007, though it had been on life-support for some time. The best thing that came of that relationship is my 29 year old son. I love him very much and I am proud to be his mother.
I love being back in North Carolina, where I spent a good part of my childhood. Raleigh is certainly different than it was, when I moved away in 1966. I think it's a vibrant city and I want to get out and enjoy more live music, Art Walks, dining and museums. I'm looking for a partner in crime to do just that. I'm just dipping my toes in, for now.
What I’m doing with my life
Writing the greatest novel, ever. Ok, not true. The last 7 years have been filled with loss, and I am just starting to feel ready to get back in the saddle. Over those years I lost my younger brother, and best friend, stepfather, mother and beloved aunt and uncle, and I got divorced. Two years ago, I bought a condo, which I really love. I volunteer for an all breed dog rescue group. I foster and attend adoption events with them. I have always been a "foodie", but I don't cook as much as I used to; cooking for myself is not so satisfying. I love to read. I mostly read mysteries. I enjoy going to farmer's markets, the flea market, anywhere to hear bluegrass, Celtic or blues music. I love being outdoors, though I'm more of a day-tripper in a car than a hiker or biker.
I’m really good at
I could say being a pushover! As I said before, I volunteer for a Rescue, and I am so proud of what the organization does,each and every day, but I can't say no to a new foster or driving to a far-flung shelter to pick up a dog. I guess what I am good at is cooking,a though a little rusty, I guess I need someone to cook with me. I am generous with what have (mostly time). I am empathetic and open-minded.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmm-not sure. I have very long fingers, and people are always asking me if I play piano. I don't.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Pillars of the Earth, Anna Karinina, Outer Banks, Last Girls, Ellen Foster, A Dog's Purpose. Movies: Casablanca, the Manchurian Candidate, Groundhog Day, Dog Day Afternoon, My Cousin Vinnie, Seabiscuit, Bridesmaids Shows: I haven't been to many. Music: Allman Brothers, Bonnie Rait, Bob Dylan, Beach Boys, Alison Krause, Tommy Thompson, Grass Cats, Big Medicine, the Band Food: Southern (old and new ), Mexican, Thai, Chinese, French, pizza. I love dives and BBQ shacks as well as white table cloth restaurants
The six things I could never do without
Family, my dogs,the natural world around me, pizza,vodka martinis, local food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What world will be left for the next generation, animal welfare and what I can do for the dogs and cats being euthanized by the millions, the up-coming Presidential election. Why the sea is boiling hot, and why do pigs have wings ;)
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing nothing different than any other night! What I'd like to be doing is going to the NC Art Museum, or First Friday Gallery tours.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Ask me later.
You should message me if
You enjoy day-trips, good food ( from a Char Burger, to a Chateaubriand ) . You are sincere ,fun-loving, and an all-around nice guy. I am not, at all athletic, so if you are looking for a golf or tennis partner, I'm not your girl! On the other hand I enjoy my privacy and would happily join you at the 19th hole, or apres' ski, by the fire.
More