27Ottawa, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a young professional who likes to keep busy. I'm originally from Kingston and I like to visit there often. I recently moved to Ottawa and I'll be starting grad school at Carleton in September.

I enjoy a lot of different activities but in particular I enjoy: hanging out with friends, going on walks, shopping (with whoever I've tricked into going with me), reading, watching movies, cooking/drinks with friends, camping in the summer time, travelling both short and long distance and on occasion I enjoy packing up my car and just seeing where I end up. In short, I get bored easily when I'm home alone, so I need to keep busy.

I'm generally pretty up-front about my feelings and opinions. I'm a very kind and caring person but admittedly I have moments where I lack sensitivity. In terms of dating, I'm hoping to meet a guy whom I click with. I think that this is the hardest thing to find in this online dating world, so I will try to describe myself to the best of my ability. I have only been dating for the past two years, I have learned a lot in that time but it has aided me in my own personal development and realization as to who I am and what I'm looking for in a partner.

I love to laugh, make others laugh and overall be a bit ridiculous (when appropriate). I have worked at a very serious job for the past three years but I think I have gotten out of it with my humour and sanity (questionable) largely intact. I have a bit of a dark sense of humour coupled with a love of the strange and occasionally vulgar. I also love a good debate, especially over wine. ;)

I love my friends. They mean the world to me. I am a very loyal person, who will bend over backwards to help someone. I try to be as forgiving as possible in my life and to treat others how I would wish to be treated myself. This is extremely challenging at times but I think I mostly have it down.

I am only 'nerdy' in a more artsy, 'I appreciate vintage furniture and cats' sort of way. I don't really play video games (I will play easy ones with you) or spend hours on the internet/watching television. I enjoy these things once in awhile, but I'd rather do art, have a conversation or go for a walk.

I wouldn't describe myself as overly masculine or overly feminine, I am somewhere in the middle. I don't really really have any hang-ups with this, nor is it very important to me when trying to find a partner. I really just want to find someone who is themselves and whom I enjoy spending time with.
What I’m doing with my life
I have previously worked for social services in the Federal government for the past three years. I have decided to take a leave of absence from my job in order to move to Ottawa and continue my education. I'm planning to attend Carleton University in the fall to complete a Master's in Social Work program.
I’m really good at
I'm really good at listening to people..and I would like to say I'm good at giving advice. ;)

I think I'm also pretty good at art, music, making people laugh through my somewhat dry/dark sense of humour, shopping, and making/keeping friends.
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humour, ability to talk freely, and my hair (I don't really understand why).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I love somewhat formulaic crime novels, like Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell. I also enjoy fantasy, historical fiction, classics and some speculative fiction. Saying this, I seem to only be reading in spurts. I don't think I've recovered fully from my undergrad!

Movies: Trying to think of non-embarrassing favourite movies is kind of difficult. Feel free to ask. ;)

Shows: I'm not really that into TV, but I do enjoy True Blood. I can appreciate certain semi-geeky shows, but I don't follow them.

Music: I love singers/groups like Amy Winehouse, Adele, Aretha Franklin, Pink, Macklemore and Florence + the Machine. However, I listen to pretty much anything.

Food: I love anything spicy and different! I'm also mildly addicted to pizza.
Six things I could never do without
iPhone (I have become addicted).
My friends
Dreams, goals and ambitions.
My cats
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend a lot of time thinking about my life and its direction. I also self-analyze a lot, and look for ways to improve myself and how I handle situations.
On a typical Friday night I am
Trying to make plans to do something with a friend. I'm not a homebody, I get bored easily and like to be social.

..or I'm working.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I secretly think I'm hilarious. I love making others laugh.

I have probably read and re-read the Harry Potter series too many times to count.

Also, despite that I know it doesn't always mean better quality, I'm a bit of a brand whore.
You should message me if
You should message me if anything in my profile intrigues you or if you can relate to any of it. I'm also always looking to make new friends, and find new things to do. :)

...also, I'm kind of shy on here and rarely message people first.
The two of us