39Eastlake, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello! I'm here looking for someone who is similar to me, but not a carbon copy. Similarities between two people provide a foundation, but differences provide opportunities to build, grow and experience. It's all about finding the right mix!

A little about me. I get to spend my day doing what I love - writing. I am a technical writer. I write business communications, manuals, policies and proposals. I would much rather spend my day writing in more of a creative environment, but I feel fortunate to at least be doing something I enjoy. I have my Master's Degree in English so beyond my love of writing is a small obsession with literature. Whenever I have a moment of down time or need a brief escape, I pick up a book. My area of focus in Graduate School was Renaissance Drama, but my taste in literature is widely diverse. I am well traveled. I spent a year studying in Japan. I have visited Germany, Slovakia, Austria and the Netherlands. My favorite weekend getaway is New York City. I try to get to New York three or four times a year to take in a couple of Broadway shows (I've seen nearly 80 shows in NYC), eat at some of the finest restaurants, and just people watch. I enjoy taking in the occasional Indians or Cavs game, but when it comes to sports it all about Ohio State football for me. I enjoy taking Sunday drives looking for obscure antiques shops. Yard sales, garage sales, and flea markets are enjoyable summer activities. I'm always searching for a Little Golden Book to add to my collection. I have about 500 different Little Golden Book which means I still need to find over 1000 to complete my collection. I am an avid biker. I've biked up to 100 miles in one day, but usually try to get in a 20 mile ride whenever the weather permits. Biking across the country is on my bucket list. Winter is my favorite season. My newest endeavor is attempting to teach myself to cook - an experiment that to date is having mixed results.

I'm laidback. I'm social, but find I do better in small groups. I might seem quiet at first, but trust me once I open up there is no turning back. I prefer a quiet night staying in to a night bouncing around town. I don't do the bar scene anymore nor do I really drink. I like to try new restaurants - there isn't a food I've come across that I don't enjoy. I enjoy sitting in a local coffee shop, a small ice cream store and visiting used book stores.

I'm genuine and open. I comfortable and confident. I want to experience something new everyday. I'm looking for someone who wants to do the same.
What I’m doing with my life
I enjoyed graduate school so much the first time, I've decided to pursue another masters degree part time. Keeps me pretty busy!

To pay the bills I am a technical writer so at least I still get to spend time doing what I enjoy - writing.
The first things people usually notice about me
Perhaps my bald head. I was bored late one night about eight years ago and - well - my hair paid the price. Since then I have attempted to grow it back, but always get annoyed at a certain stage in the growth process when I start to resemble a chia pet...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Having recently completed my Masters Degree in English Literature, it should come as no surprise that I am an avid reader. I read a little bit of everything, but my primary area of interest is Renaissance Drama - you know, Shakespeare, Marlowe, Johnson, Kyd, Dekker and Beaumont just to name a few. As far as contemporary authors: David Foster Wallace, John Irving, E. L. Doctorow, Michael Cunningham, Jonathan Letham and Dan Chaon. I also can't resist a book by Nathanial Hawthorne, Henry James, Jane Austen and Hemmingway. I really like to read!

I don't get to the movies much. It's not that I don't enjoy a good movie, but unfortunately it seems that I never can find the time. I did recently go see "The Great Gatsby" and thought it was phenomenal.

I would much rather go to the theater. I like to spend free weekends traveling to NYC to catch as many shows as I can. I enjoy everything from modern contemporary drama to the reaniassance works of Shakespeare and his contemporaries.

As for music, It has to be country. I don't mind listening to other forms, but my car's radio is always tuned to the country station.

Finally, food - let me just put it this way, if it is edible I'll give it a try, and in all likelihood discover that I enjoy it. Food, especially anything sweet and sugary, is a joy I can't resist.
Six things I could never do without
1. The obvious choice - my family.
2. A good used bookstore.
3. My passport.
4. Dessert after dinner.
5. My morning bicycle rides.
6. Sadly - the internet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I never stop thinking. I think about anything and everything. A short quote from a book I am reading can keep me occupied with thought for hours. A conversation with friends could distract me days later as I search through the words for clarity and meaning. A random flower along my bike path...a stranger oblivious to my stare...why decaf coffee beans aren't as oily as regular coffee beans...the past...the present...the future...are a few of the many things I tend to think about.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually spending the evening unwinding from the work week. I could be trying a new restaurant or sitting on my couch reading a good book.
You should message me if
Message me if anything in my profile has caught your interest. I'm willing to share more, but I have to get to know you a little better first. Who knows what could come from a simple little message.
The two of us