25Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Upfront, since we all know what a problem it is that OKC puts limits on our genders and sexualities, let me explain how I really feel: I'm a female-bodied, gender non-conforming, *mostly* feminine-presenting, pansexual dyke. Most of the people I date are members of the queer and/or trans community, but I'm attracted to people of all genders and various orientations. Bodies don't concern me. I'm also poly and currently in a primary relationship, but always looking to meet new people and have diverse experiences.

Okay. My name is Melanie and I'm new to Portland. I recently concluded my education at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities and moved here from Minneapolis to intern at Bitch Magazine.

In the past I worked on a web design team editing content and doing basic layout and html formatting for the web. I was also a political columnist for the Minnesota Daily and still work as a freelance journalist. For several summers I worked at a camp in northern Wisconsin facilitating and coordinating their art programming and working with the kids.

I'm also very involved in activism and social justice. I'm an environmentalist, a feminist, and very very queer. I like the animals and have a great value for life. I spend a lot of time thinking about the things that are important to me and taking action.

I'm originally from a suburb of Madison and still love to go back to visit. I also lived for a short while in Milwaukee before transfering to the U of M and moving to Minneapolis. Now I'm in Portland and dying to find new people to connect with, preferably those who can show me something new and exciting to do in the city.

I'm a vegetarian, lactose-intolerant, and a big supporter of buying local food. I eat a lot of produce (it's my favorite and my diet is a bit limiting), and do most of my shopping at co-ops and farmer's markets when they're open. I love to cook (and eat) delicious organic, vegetarian/vegan dishes.

When I'm not working, organizing for social change, exploring, or cooking, I'm generally either with friends or enjoying one of my many hobbies. These include: frequenting coffee shops, drinking egregious amouts of black tea, biking, hiking, camping, laying in the grass, crafting, knitting, singing, listening to music, watching movies, writing, dancing, acting, reading, wandering the streets, smoking cigarettes, playing Bananagrams, watching and playing roller derby, climbing trees, facebooking, devising plans to suprise my friends and cohorts, and so forth.

On a more theoretical note, I'm a thinker, a duscusser, an INTP, and about as open-minded as anyone I've ever encountered. I tend to dismantle social constructions and rebuild the world in my head and on my own terms; that's not to say I'm out of touch from reality. On the contrary, I'm acutely awair of the real world, the norms, and other peoples perceptions. However, I tend to have a very different perception of what lables like age, gender, sexuality, and various identites actually mean. In this sense I confuse some people, but it can also make for amazing and stimulating conversation if you take the time to listen and open your mind.

In the end, people are people. I'm a person. I enjoy my life and respect the life of other living things. And I'd love to talk about it all over a cup of tea.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a writer and an activist. Since I see everything through a deconstructionist, political lens and have the skills and passion to communicate what I observe, that's exactly what I plan to do. I aim to work in non-profit journalism, encountering the many creatures that inhabit this planet, making observations, and telling it like I see it.
I’m really good at
building campfires
thinking logically
The first things people usually notice about me
my bare feet, tattoos, or the holes in my face
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Stone Butch Blues, King Kong Theory, Fun Home, Rat Bohemia, Veronika Decides to Die, The Devil in the White City

Movies: Heathers, Legends of the Fall, Girl Interrupted, Whip It, But I'm a Cheerleader

Shows: Lost, Battlestar Galactica, Twin Peaks, True Blood, 30 Rock

Music: Florence + the Machine, Cloud Cult, Ani DiFranco, Tegan and Sara, Bic Runga, Kimya Dawson, Carole King, Tracy Chapman, Elliott Smith, Nirvana, The Dresden Dolls, Joss Stone, Lady Gaga, No Doubt, Regina Spektor, Imogen Heap, Sage Francis, Rilo Kiley, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and anything from Wicked or Rent.

Food: Stir-fry, Pad Thai, curry, anything with ginger and peanut put together, tofu, veggies, rice, pomegranates. I like my food local, organic, and vegetarian.
Six things I could never do without
my cats (which is a shame because they're far away right now)
tea w/ soy milk
chocolate cupcakes
writing instruments
red wine
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to figure out how the world functions, how different aspects of society are constructed, what makes people tick (on an individual and general level), and how identities are formed by perceptions.
On a typical Friday night I am
Alone or with a lover. I'm not a party animal and being around too many people at one time makes me withdraw. I'd rather indulge my need for space and internal dialogue or have an intimate (read that as you will) evening with someone I'm close to.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm pretty much broke. Working on it.
You should message me if
you're chill
you rank low on the drama-meter
you like to people watch
you want to discuss feminism
you want to discuss/promote social change
you don't believe in binary
you write
you want to get a cup of tea/coffee with me
you're stable emotionally
you want to show me something awesome in Portland
you want someone to chat with
you have something unique and grammatically correct to say
The two of us