mootsandwich1
26 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
mootsandwich1
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I'm Ed. I was born in the Bay Area and raised in San Francisco for the most part. I'm generally making music of one kind or another, and if I'm not doing that I'm usually reading a book or playing video games.

Also, I'm curious as to how the technomancers that run this site are able to determine that I'm 'More Experienced in Life' than other men my age when I'm answering questions about Pixar movies and whether or not the sun is larger than the Earth.

ENFP if you're into that armchair Jungian stuff, or Chaotic Good if you're a gross, dice-rolling nerd like me.
What I’m doing with my life
Playing with parrots for a living at the local pet store, writing music in funky alternate tunings, and percolating potential D&D scenarios.

I'm also chasing a degree in Marine Biology at SF State. Doctorate is the goal, but I enjoy getting sidetracked.
I’m really good at
I spend a lot of time performing and writing music, and I've never been told to stop...so that counts as a win in my book.

I'm also really big into homebrewing and other fermentations like pickles and bread. I generally have a lot of things bubbling away at any given point. My sourdough starter is a member of the family.

The current homebrew lineup is a Hoppy Red Ale and a Smoked Dry Irish Stout I'm calling the Busted Knuckle.

I have a good mind for trivia that I like to supplant with a steady diet of documentaries and as a result I know a lot more about random crap than I probably should.

Bad celebrity impressions are a specialty.
The first things people usually notice about me
My telescoping reptilian tongue and my laser-beam eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King, I love most anything by Neil Gaiman. Fantasy is my jam and I've recently been chewing on Pat Rothfuss' Kingkiller Chronicle.

Movies: Big Fish is my favorite, but I loves me some Indiana Jones.

Shows: Firefly, Dexter, Star Trek TNG, Sherlock, and on along that vein. I also was recently introduced to Sons of Anarchy and I've been chugging along on that.

Music: I'm a huge fan of the Blues. The older and delta-ier the better. Folk, Country, Dixie Jazz, Gypsy Swing, Classic Rock, Bluegrass, and Celtic stuff. Most of the time if it has virtuosity to it, I can get into it.

The apex of musical expectation sits with Leo Kottke's hallucinogenic guitar weirdness, though I've had a recent obsession with Joe Pass.

Food: I'm a big fan of the 'rice with stuff in it' genre. My favorite candidates for this are currently beans and kimchi (not at the same time, though).
The six things I could never do without
There's probably a weak joke I could make about homeostasis here, but I'll pass.

1. My Guitar
2. A Notebook
3. A Pencil
4. A Frying Pan
5. A 20 Sided Die
6. A Good Novel
I spend a lot of time thinking about
When I'm going about my day to day business I like to zone out and write songs in my head...so that ends up eating up a lot of my bandwidth these days.
On a typical Friday night I am
Playing the banjo with a kazoo in my mouth.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Aside from my spectacularly illegal panda wrestling operation?
You should message me if
DFTBA means anything to you.

You think House Hufflepuff is super underrated.

You wanna grab a six pack and watch The Muppet Show.
More