64 Ithaca, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an active, youthful, down-to-earth caring woman, looking for friendship/companionship. It would be nice to one day find someone that's "right", for a loving relationship.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as an educator, and still enjoy what I do, though am starting to think about how much longer I plan to work. I have an adult married son whom I'm close to, but unfortunately he and his wife don't live nearby. I started a new life and career here in Ithaca 6 years ago, so I have relatively new "roots". I value good family relationships, though, and would want to be with someone who's got healthy relationships with children and extended family.
I’m really good at
Listening, empathizing, nurturing.
Consider myself a spiritual person, seeing each experience as a chance to learn how to better myself.
Being a lifelong learner -- enjoy reading, researching and trying new things.
Expressing myself, synthesizing ideas, writing.
Music -- though only for fun (sing, play piano).
Am pretty good with computers, but try not to let gadgets run my life. I'm not a geek and really prefer being out and about to sitting for hours at a computer.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm friendly and easy to talk to. I like to connect and am generally open-minded and accepting, so people are comfortable talking about themselves. I'm educated and well-spoken and like to have intelligent conversations. I guess some people at first think I'm kind of serious, but when I get to know someone, I'm playful and love to laugh and have fun.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I enjoy lots of different cuisines, but am health conscious so try not to overdo at mealtimes. I've gotten out of the habit of cooking anything but really simple stuff, as I live by myself. Would probably enjoy it again if my partner and I did it together.

I read a wide variety of things: news, online articles, nonfiction on topics that grab my interest, books that friends recommend, fiction or nonfiction by authors I hear about or read about. Used to be in a book club where I lived before, and really enjoyed it. Being a librarian at a school, it is important for me to keep up with what's currently read by young people -- so I am usually reading some pretty diverse works written for young adults (even things I don't particularly like!)

Music is very important to me, but -- and this may not make sense to everyone-- I actually like to listen just as much to new things as I do to familiar styles/artists, etc. Classical, jazz, world, folk, bluegrass, and more. This is one reason I enjoy listening to the radio so much.

Movies and plays are also great. I admire well-crafted stories, lofty themes, and artful performances. I like everything from popular to more obscure movies, foreign and/or art films. It's fun to be able to talk about them with the person I see them with.

I don't watch a lot of TV, but when I do it's usually news shows, documentaries, specials.
The six things I could never do without
Family and good friends; Art / color, music; beauty in nature;
Books and ideas
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how I want to live life to the fullest, as time is short.
On a typical Friday night I am
Typical? It depends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Maybe once I get to know you...