44Arlington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm not sure what to say here. I'll probably be the first person you've met whose hung out in Djibouti? Weird little place. I do a lot of specific summarizing below. I'm a pretty happy, pretty outgoing guy. I love long conversations and usually manage to have a lot of fun and laughs; over beer or coffee if necessary.
What I’m doing with my life
I am 39 years old and a native of Boston. I graduated from high school in a nearby suburb and joined the Army. I chose that path because it was always a dream of mine to serve my country. That, and because flying around in helicopters and shooting guns seemed like a fun way to spend a few years. I joined the 10th Mountain Division because I have always been an avid skier. As luck would have it, my service in the Army saw me being deployed to Africa, the Caribbean, Central America and the deserts of California. Not much skiing! After the Army, I went to college and majored in Anthropology. I also took the exam to become a firefighter. Well, the fire department called and I went for it. I have now been a firefighter/E.M.T. for fourteen years. It is a wonderful, satisfying job.
I'm helping to raise my son, who is going to be six in June of '12. He liives with his mother primarily, but I get to spend a lot of time with him and everyone involved is on good terms. I'm hoping to start a side-business in the marine electrical field. I spent several years as a boatbuilder specializing in the electrical/electronics systems on boats. It''s a great niche and attracts a lot of interesting characters.
I’m really good at
I'm generally very good at making people laugh.  I'm good at my jobs.  I have had many different part time jobs over the years; carpenter, electrician, and boatbuilder.  I wouldn't call myself an expert in any of those jobs, but the result is I'm pretty handy.  Often in a Macgyver kind of way.  I think (I know!) I'm a good dad.  I'm an enthusiastic and pretty decent cook.
I'm a good traveller.  The places I have travelled to to and would like to travel to are way off the beaten path, generally.  I am not afraid to go anywhere (maybe Mogadishu!) and although I would like to travel to all of the usual places, I think that travel to the sketchier (and usually more interesting) places in the world is a younger person's game.  So, I'm saving Hawaii etc., for when I'm older and can't run fast anymore.  
               I'm good in conversation.  I can bat the ball convincingly on most subjects, and I'm told I'm a good listener.  
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm good in conversation and even if nervous, I can usually avoid awkward pauses. My sense of humor. My breathtaking good looks.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read pretty widely.  I won't make a big list here, but just mention a few books.  Confederacy of Dunces, most D.F.W., Don Delillo (esp. White Noise), Graham Greene, Cutting for Stone, A Neotropical Companion, The Jaguar Smile, assorted non-fiction.  I try to balance my reading by alternating between fiction and non-fiction.  I have a particular interest in Latin America and Africa.
I love a range of music.  I came of age during the long talent-hibernation that was the '80's.  So, I had to dig deep during those years.  I listened to punk and more mainstream bands like R.E.M., Beastie Boys, etc.  Of course some staples were Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, the Doors, the darker, better stuff from the 60's and 70's.  Then, grunge hit when I was about seventeen, so that became the soundtrack of some of my most formative years.  I once declined to attend a concert being played by Pearl Jam in a college cafeteria in front of about forty people because I thought they were a rap group.  Now I have a pretty wide range with some of my favorites being the White Stripes, Cat Power, Wilco, The Scud Mountain boys, Brandi Carlile. The more I think, the more bands come to mind... I have taken an Alt-country turn in my old age.  
I mostly like independent films; foreign films.  The best movie I've seen in recent years "Downfall".  
As far as food, I'm really an omnivore.  I like almost everything and I'll try anything.     
Six things I could never do without
My son
The ocean
The outdoors
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lots of things. I'm very interested in many random things. I follow international events and I love history and art. I developed a keen interest in Africa as a whole and follow certain parts of Africa closely.
On a typical Friday night I am
These days, I am generally home and what I'm doing depends on whether I have my son staying with me or not. I do not have a T.V. I have nothing against T.V., but when I have one it swallows me whole. So, reading or cooking or working. I occasionally go out with friends, but at 39, most are married and it has gotten almost impossible to get people together.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Probably the most scared I've ever been was when I was hiking alone in the rainforest in Costa Rica and I was convinced I was being stalked by a pack of collared peccaries. Basically little wild pigs. I still sometimes hear their little oinks...
You should message me if
You'd like to chat, have some laughs, and if there's a connection; have some adventures...
The two of us