mrcas
65San Rafael, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
mrcas
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I’m Corey... and here’s me in a nutshell– a large info-packed nutshell.

I was born and raised in the Chicago. Translated: a down-to-earth Mid-Westerner. But, I've also lived in Ohio, Colorado, Arizona and up and down the California coast. I've actually managed to venture to 49 of our 50 states over the years, though still have yet to check Alaska off the list.

I’ve been amically divorced for many years now and my “former” and I remain friends. That's good because we’ve raised two kids who are young adults now. I have a son in Los Angeles. And a daughter who's still local. So, if you have kids...bonus points; I think there's a whole lot of empathy and understanding between two people who've been on the journey of raising kids. At least in theory. Oh, there is a third child I should mention. Bella, an eight pound Maltese who was preceded by a 90-pound gentle giant named Mesquite. Yes, I admit I have a soft spot for dogs.

A sneak preview of what you might expect should we ever meet? I’m easy-going, light-hearted, non-judgemental with a steady sense of humor that is both dry and “out there” at times. That sense of humor has served me well as I've had long career on the creative side of the ad business– an art director by trade. A writer by default. And speaking of my career that’s where you come in. While I’ve got one eye looking at layouts on my laptop, my other eye has been wandering a bit– fixated on my transition to “semi-retirement” very soon. I'm really hoping to connect with someone to share adventures. And, if we're lucky, even more.

Other tidbits about me that may be of interest. I’m good with my hands and like to build and fix things. Repair a turntable? Tile a bathroom. Assemble Ikea furniture backwards? Sure. That thing in my garage under the car cover– a ‘68 convertible I restored– which is fun to take out now and then. You can drive if you like. And speaking of "like," I like old things. Architecture. Furniture. Musical nstruments. Vinyl records. Anything well-preserved. In fact, I've been told I fall into that category.

Another lifelong passion of mine– music. I’ve played guitar since I was 12 twelve years old and have a pretty good ear. Unfortunately, I'm a average singer. Oh well. But, I love music whether it’s playing by myself, sitting in with other musicians, or hearing live music.

I also like to cook and it’s fun to cook “together.” I tend to eat pretty healthy– though I do have my vices which include red wine and dark chocolate. Lately, also Vodka :-) And I also like getting outdoors and being in nature. Could be a hike, a walk in Marin Open Space or a scenic bike ride. I’m no athlete but somewhat fit. And so you know, my exercise of choice (and habit) is swimming. That might explain the fragrance of chlorine that occasionally surrounds me.

Other random things I like in no particular order: the sound and smell of rain, the ocean and stormy weather. Road trips, cozy restaurants, street fairs, small get-togethers, films in almost any genre, comedy (Curb Your Enthusiasm), the tropics and mountains, documentaries, travel, dog shows, and sometimes, a sports event.

Now– let’s talk about you. What am I looking for? Chemistry, of course, needs to be there. Physical and otherwise. We all want that, but it’s a definite intangible. Friendship goes without saying. And a sense of humor is a must– we can't survive without that. Especially, if we both think the same things are funny. Beyond that, I hope we share some interests, yet, I expect you will have some interests or passions of your own. I appreciate women who take care of themselves, are easy-going, kind, honest, loyal, casual, stylish, have a sense of humor (perhaps quirky), a good moral compass, and are perhaps a bit artsy.

Bonus points for being reasonablly close to your “said” age, living nearby and having decent photos. By that I mean I won't be looking for a jelly bean in the Grand Canyon, etc.

Where shall we start? How about experiencing each other
in 3-D (minus the glasses) for starters. :-)
What I’m doing with my life
A bit of this. A bit of that. Thinking and planning for "semi-retirement" a lot. Swimming, of course. Work– four days a week. Enjoying my daughter when I get a chance to hang out with her. Vicariously following my sons career. Purging things I don't need. Getting outdoors- often with dog next to me.. Weekend getaways here and there. Doing little things to make the world a better place. Savoring my free time. Thinking about what is next.
I’m really good at
My job as art director. Finding the humor in most situations. Fixing something. Hearing a song, then playing it. Finding a parking spot that's close. Visualizing something that doesn't exist. Listening. Getting to the crux of a situation. Keeping calm. Napping. Cooking Salmon. Hanging out at home and
being very content.
The first things people usually notice about me
Well, it's not like I've done a survey! Perhaps my smile.
That, there is a cute dog next to me. That I'm very at ease. That the hump they thought was on the left side of my back now appears to moved over to the right side of my back. Or did it? The twinkle in my eye.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Steely Dan. Curb Your Enthusiasm. Great guitarists– there are so many! R &B meets jazz. Quiet... just the sound of the trees or wind. Live music when I get the chance. Non-fiction books and interesting documentaries. The sound of the rain or ocean. Salmon. Funny comedians. The Wizard of Oz. especially berries. Old things. Old cars.
Six things I could never do without
Six,why six? What a weird number to pick. OK... Music. Laughter. Family. Dogs. Quiet time. Nature. The internet (hate to admit that). Saran Wrap. Sex. Sleep. Beautiful scenery. Air. Let me know when I'm over six, OK?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Retirement– very intimidating. My kids. Getting old. Or older. My dad. My house. What's next? How nice it will be not having to commute to an office four days a week. What makes people tick. The amazing coincidences that seem to constantly happen around me. What my dog does when I'm not home (she watches Animal Planet, I think). Cool places in the world to live or visit. Purging belongings I don't really use or need, which it turns out is most things.
On a typical Friday night I am
Decompressing. Horizontal. Chillin'. Looking forward to the weekend. Thinking Tuesday is a long time away.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I tell you mine if you tell me yours. In time. :-)
You should message me if
Want to experience me from a distance of two feet, or so. Feel a connection to me you can't explain. Want to discuss four-legged furry creatures. Would like to sit down with a stand-up guy for cup of coffee or glass of wine. Don't have plans this coming weekend. Have a hunch.
More
The two of us
--
Dating
--
Lifestyle
--
Other
--
Sex
--
Ethics
--
Religion