59West Tisbury, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Living on an island can be tricky but the boats run pretty regularly and it's a relaxing ride. Just part of living here.

I have a tendency to laugh and find humor in most things. Try to put a smile on daily. I've been told my laugh is distinctive. The eyes and smile tell a lot when getting to know someone. (often the key to the heart)

I have been told that I look and act younger than my pictures. I am a loyal friend; thoughtful and caring. I'm sensitive and have an appreciation for thoughtfulness. I have high expectations for myself and look for it in others: integrity, honesty and openness.

I'm hard working but like my down time to have fun or simply relax. I like the exhausted accomplishment after all day of hard physical work. Just not every day. I love spending time with my kids. They are both in Boston. One in college; one working. They are great people; smart and loving. Staying home and relaxing in front of crackling fire (my fireplace is outside) with a drink is nice too. Snuggling on the couch and enjoying time together. The comfort from that connection is huge!

I like adventure-will try just about anything. Things I haven't done but would try or like to learn-scuba diving, jumping from a plane, hang gliding and more! I screamed with delight when I skied my first black diamond runs; it was magic. Being on or near the water is like being home.

I hope to travel more, see more cultures, eat weird foods, see big city performances. Help out somewhere in the world when I get to retire.

I'm more comfortable barefoot and in jeans than in heels. Can't see how people wear heels all day long. My favorite "heels" are my cowboy boots. I have a few pairs. I do have a number of "out on the town" dresses; not many opportunities to wear them living in the country. If there's good music, I can dance for hours! The bars are unappealing solo. I do like to go out and enjoy music and dancing; just isn't much fun alone.
What I’m doing with my life
I enjoy my job teaching; been doing it for 34 years.
I’m really good at
saying what's on my mind. oh let's see- I'm oddly mechanical (for a girl)- can take things apart and fix them.. even like doing it. I'm fairly witty, like to smile and laugh.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am up beat and usually am smiling.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like most types of movies, like mystery books, classic rock and roll, blues, (Nora Jones, Joss Stone, Keb Mo). Most foods... not a big fan of curry. HAD to leave theater watching CRASH- too much hatred and raw feelings based on all of society's hateful actions. Summer reads: No Country for Old Men, Labyrinth, Steig Larsen bks; loved-The Book Thief. The Road. The Book People, the free local paper. I don't read major papers or watch much news-I don't care for all that hype and sad information.
Six things I could never do without
my children's laughter and love
sunshine and warmth
the ocean
knowing I am cared for
companionship, communication and warmth
my water bed
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what witty hook do I need in my profile that will spark someone's interest; and why is that necessary. Not looking for Superman.
I spend a good amount of my time thinking about how to provide for the varied skills of the kids in my classroom.
On a typical Friday night I am
Watching a movie or grabbing a bite to eat at a restaurant with a girl friend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I cry at movies, sappy ads, happy success stories.-- that big heart thing.
You should message me if
You could swim if the boat sank. You have a positive outlook on life, are giving and compassionate and are not too oddly quirky.:-)
The two of us