48 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born in Beirut to a Lebanese father and a German mother. I traveled quite a bit during childhood, left a war-torn country at 19 to pursue an education, lived since in Paris and New York, then settled in New York for good... I have two beautiful kids, boy 20 + girl 19, both in college. The rest of the time I spend working, enjoying the city and planning my next trip.
What I’m doing with my life
I am self-employed as an information architect/designer. I am passionate about my work and I enjoy a nice caliber of clients, and I spend a healthy amount of hours at my desk.

I love New York City, the culture, the diversity, the variety of food. I love art, music and dance performances, and I am thankful about the city’s offerings in those areas.

I do enjoy getting out, heading out of the city to disconnect. I prefer hiking/biking/swimming to jogging or the gym. I don't own a house in the Hamptons or a shack upstate, I prefer varying the places I visit. I also travel quite a bit.
I’m really good at
What I do for work, organizing, editing and designing. To me function leads form, there is a lot of German in me! The Lebanese comes out when it comes to warmth and compassion, love of company, love of nature, love of the sun, and the Mediterranean.

I cook well and enjoy hosting dinners. I watch what I eat and I shop organic, but I'm not a vegetarian.

I’m very affectionate, loyal, and I prefer quality to variety. Meaning I prefer good friends to a quantity of acquaintances, and my lovers have always been ‘the only one.’ I was married for almost 20 years, but my husband, a true artist, had no goals in life and was threatened by my ambition. It was very hard, but we remain good friends, in fact we're neighbors.

I am versatile. I value silence, deep conversations, but also company and energetic activities. Emotionally intelligent I am comfortable being alone, I don't have insecurity issues. And I'm content with my life, enjoy quality products (alluding to quality over quantity), I tend to be minimalistic. I am not materialistic and despise showing off brand names.

I am active, but I do listen to the birds sing. I am surrounded by trees in Ditmas Park and do wake up to the songs of nightingales. I am romantic, but a doer, not a dreamer.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm transparent, friendly and loyal. Smart, cultured and multi-lingual. I'm fit. And I'm more into action than talking (about myself)!

I am comfortable, versatile, can initiate a conversation with children/elderly and business people alike. I am not the loud person at the table, but the poised, inconscpicuous one.

I wear little make-up. While I care about bringing out the good features in me and being presentable, I always look natural.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am truly multi-cultured and it’s hard to narrow it down to a few choices:
• Food-wise I'm easy going, eat a wide variety of foods but vegetables and salads are always a must .
• A somewhat recent movie I won't forget is Les Intouchables (with François Cluzet and Omar Sy). Others include Cinema Paradiso, Omar, anything by Almodovar. I watch many independent flicks, but Hollywood has its masters' list too.
• I read quite a bit, books mostly, classic and new. I am reading Zone by Mathias Enard -- fascinating!
• In music I'm a minimalist, few instruments or a vocalist. I love the sound of piano -- Philip Glass's score for The Hours got me high. Classical is great upon waking up, few-beat lounge while working. Silence is also great.
The six things I could never do without
The sun, light.
Friends, closeness, affection, love.
Openness of mind and heart.
My country, Lebanon, its people and contagious joie de vivre, the closeness of people. (I go there once a year to take care of business, visit my mom and friends).
Otherwise I'm easy going.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The sad state of the world into which I brought children.
All the beautiful places in the world I have yet to visit.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going to BAM, a movie, dinner, or cuddling up to a good book/movie at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Oh I don't know...
You should message me if
• If you're smart, well cultured, at ease with your life and standards.
• If your TV is only turned on for special shows/news.
• If you like to travel -- for a week-end trip nearby or the Alps for skiing; to visit the museums of in London, Berlin and New York of course; for occasional trips outside the beaten path, and anywhere around the Mediterranean.
• If you're not afraid of visiting Lebanon (New York is a more dangerous place in many ways!). For the record I was born a protestant but I'm not religious.
• If you live in New York City, which will make it so much more plausible.