40Rochester, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Early 30's. Loves dogs. Writing my PhD thesis in physical chemistry, but a little tired of it. Just looking to meet someone.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm just trying to finish up in school and decide what I want to be when I grow up, or really if I want to grow up at all.
I’m really good at
trivia. Nobody ever wants to play trivial pursuit with me anymore.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, maybe. Or, really, the cute dogs I have with me most of the time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Vonnegut, Alexander McCall Smith, Michael Chabon (Love Kavalier and Clay and Wonder Boys), my nerd reading has evolved from Star Wars extended universe when I was in college to Napoleonic era historic fiction. NERD ALERT!

Shows: 30 Rock, Community, Wilfred, Mad Men, Dexter, The Daily Show. I will say that I never watch them on TV, though. Ever since Hulu and Netflix came along, my TV is reserved for DVDs and occasional live sports.

Movies: Pretty much anything except most horror movies.

Music: I'm probably 20 years or more behind pop music. Love Crosby Stills and Nash (and Young), folk music, some old country, Warren Zevon, and of course, as a Jersey boy, I gotta love the Boss.

Food: I love trying new things. I don't see the point of chain restaurants where the food is all homogenized. Give me a mom-and-or-pop restaurant any day.
Six things I could never do without
My dog(s), my espresso machine, an internet connection, good books, the NY Times crossword puzzle, a clean bathroom when I need one.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How things work.
On a typical Friday night I am
hanging out with my dog, or out at a quiet-ish bar.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I kinda tear up (well, ok, sometimes I openly weep) when reading stories or watching a movie where an animal dies. That includes Charlotte's Web.
The two of us