37 Raleigh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Ok! Self-summary. Let's do this. I'm short, goofy, not as patient as I'd like, kinda cute, a big fan of dogs, indifferent to chocolate and my new year's resolution is to stop texting while driving.

That's the short version. If none of those were a deal breaker I can get into a little more detail... shall I?

I just finished grad school. I don't think that makes me any smarter than I was but it does give me an excuse to toss around words like "shall" in everyday conversation. I love sports: I'm a huge hockey fan (Go Canes!) and tortured Wolfpack fan. I enjoy a nice bike ride, especially on a quiet evening and I've reached an unimpressive plateau in my disc golf skillz. I like trying new things but I also love a quiet night in - I think life should be a good mix of the comfortable and the adventurous.

I have a very sarcastic sense of humor and I regularly laugh at the kinds of things that usually only amuse 13 year-old boys. By the way, I think laughter is pretty kick-ass.

I'm a big fan of science and technology. I'm always trying to keep up with the latest news and trends and I'm one of those weird people who actually reads non-fiction. And... I've put you to sleep, haven't I?

Ok, to sum up, I'm open to meeting new people and finding some time for a (good) beer, a movie or some stimulating conversation. If that sounds good to you, drop me a note!
What I’m doing with my life
I work in IT-- I do web design and also a fair amount of technology training.
When I'm not doing that I'm usually looking into some social media tools or occasionally doing some freelance writing or web design.
And when I'm not doing that I'm trying to find time to hang out with my friends and family, play a board game, catch a hockey game, walk my dog, ignore my garden, watch some TV, read a book - you get the gist.
I’m really good at
I'm a decent cook. I can keep a plant alive. I'm a good teacher and public speaking doesn't bother me. I take care to keep an eye on my money and am cautious about spending, though I'm also pretty good at indulging my technology whims which is costly. I know how, to use punctuation.! I've had some experience with sarcasm. That's about it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I hear about my smile a lot so let's go with that. :D
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
MUSIC: I like everything except country and rap. My favorite band is BareNaked Ladies, but that's mostly a nostalgia thing since I grew up listening to them. I love the comedic musical stylings of Flight of the Conchords, Paul and Storm, JoCo and the like. I enjoy some classic rock (Floyd, Beatles, Zepplin, Supertramp) and some newer rock (Muse, the Killers, the Shins, and Snow Patrol). I also enjoy jazz and big band and especially some good piano.

TV: I routinely watch Mythbusters, Community, HIMYM, Castle, Glee and I'm totally in love with Fringe which means it will be cancelled tomorrow. Forgive the cynicism but I'm also a Joss Whedon fan so I've been burned (die, Fox, die!!) before. I'm catching on to the likes of New Girl and Suburbia and I hear I'll love Walking Dead so I guess I should look into that.

MOVIES: Back to the Future, Shawshank Redemption, Usual Suspects, Stranger Than Fiction, Serenity, Dogma, Evolution, Grosse Point Blank, Ghostbusters... Nuts. I know I'm missing a bunch. Think funny/ twisted/ sci-fi and yeah... romantic. Sorry, I am a girl.

BOOKS: Mmmm... I read fast so it's hard to keep track - I love Dick Francis, Ken Follet, Jasper Fforde and I'd read anything JK Rowling did. Right in the middle of Hunger Games trilogy now - jury is still out on that. Recently read some Erik Larsen and I'll be back for more of his.

FOOD: Mexican (I could eat it everyday), dim sum, sushi, thai, italian, greek. Not a huge fan of Indian. I'll try anything once. Love good beer and wine!
The six things I could never do without
My friends and family; good food and beer... and liquor... and wine (that counts as one); travel to wherever as often as possible; air conditioning; technology (pays the bills, keeps me entertained); my independence.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why I worry about what I'm supposed to be doing with my life. How girls think differently than guys. The potential damage that napalm-ing my backyard would do to the local eco-system.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends, watching some TV or checking out a brewery. Hopefully a nice dinner, maybe a movie or some time wandering around downtown.

If I'm home I might actually be trying to get through my Netflix queue or playing a little XBox.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm Canadian. No, this isn't some scam to get a Visa, I have duel citizenship. I also don't have an accent or a floppy head, but for some reason being from "America's Hat" still cracks people up. I just see it as an excuse to celebrate Thanksgiving twice (AWESOME).
You should message me if
You're kind. And not psycho. Preferably you're funny, caring, gentlemanly and like short, goofy, kinda cute women who love dogs and hockey.
One more thing. I think a relationship needs a good foundation - you have to like each other before you fall in love so I think it's important that we can be best friends.

You should *not* message me if you write sentences without capitalization or punctuation. Or if you want to convert me to [insert religion or political party here]. Or if your favorite beer is Corona.
But really, if you're still reading at this point then hell, good work! Drop me a note!