nerd_burgher
33 Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
nerd_burgher
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
For 2016, I've decided to put better effort towards my dating life. While I am partnered in a poly relationship, I am interested in meeting like-minded women who'd be interested in building towards a primary relationship with me. Inquire within 😊

--------------------------------------------------

An OKCupid friend once said: "I like the way you interact. It's less pressure than a lot of people. I didn't need to put on airs. You smile, speak openly, express opinions, share knowledge, and you're...welcoming."

Urban, progressive, feminist, socialist, kinky, pro-equality, pro LGBT. Scotch/whiskey and third-wave coffee enthisiast. Amateur awesome beard grower and cat-obsessed man.

I'm a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I feel this is important to put out there. You will either find it adorably endearing or head shakingly nerdy.

ENFP. Former ENFJ.

Passionate city dweller. I really hate the suburbs.

I really like burritos.

I'm kind of clumsy sometimes.

Im not messy, but I'm a terrible homemaker.

I'm really bad at remembering song titles, movie titles, actors names, and character names when I'm actually trying to make a point or refer to them in conversation. It's like a chronic brain fart hah.

I've been playing guitar for 10 years. I've written 20-30 songs, and have 20-30 I haven't finished. Yes, I will sing and play them for you.

Geeky/nerdy girls apply within.

Also, I think visible tattoos, freckles, septum piercings, and current/future cat ladies are very attractive 😊

Warning:

I will judge you by your tattoos.

It seems worth noting that I'm not 100% on the whole marriage and kids things. This seems to be a deal breaker for some people, which is understandable. It's not that I'm against it, I just haven't met someone I can see myself doing those things with.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a (full-time and freelance) Art Director/Designer. I have my own place in Squirrel Hill. I have a car. An amazing girlfriend, who is also my best friend. Life is pretty darn good!

Started going back to the gym and eating better. Once the weather improves, I'll add riding my Raleigh Port Townsend bicycle. If you want to go riding with me, drop me a note!
I’m really good at
Reading people. Design. Beard growing. Cooking. Organizing. Parallel parking. Kissing. Not doing the dishes (even though I purchased a dishwasher).
The first things people usually notice about me
My beard. Then my glasses. And my tattoos if I'm wearing short sleeves.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: J.K. Rowling, Paulo Coelho, Michael Chabon, Tom Robbins, Chuck Palahniuk, Neil Gaiman

Movies:
Almost Famous, Across the Universe, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Indiana Jones Trilogy, Star Wars Saga, Harry Potter, Fight Club, Shawshank Redemption, Catch Me If You Can, Labyrinth, Dark Crystal, Mel Brooks movies, Monty Python, Kill Bill, Pixar films (Finding Nemo, Ratatouille and Up are big favs), Miyazaki films.

Animes:
Gurren Lagann, Kill la Kill, Magi, Sword Art Online, Attack on Titan, Berzerck, Samurai Champloo, Samurai 7, Noragami, Okami-san and Her Seven Companions, Ghost Hunt

TV:
How I Met Your Mother, Breaking Bad, Walking Dead, Parks and Recreations, Bob's Burgers, Futurama, Adventure Time, Regular Show, Steven Universe (way behind, need to catch up)

Podcasts:
PNWS, The Black Tapes, Tanis

Music (in no particular order):
Recent Additions: Old Crow Medicine Show, The Low Anthem, Great Bloomers, Passenger, Hargo, The Winter Sounds

The Beatles, Mumford & Sons, Noah and the Whale, Butch Walker, Simon & Garfunkel, James Taylor, Mason Jennings, City and Colour, Bon Iver, Cat Stevens, Led Zeppelin, Dave Matthews (occasionally), The Decemberists, Derby, Avett Brothers, Enter the Haggis, The Pogues, Flogging Molly, Dropkick Murphies, Fleet Foxes, Frightened Rabbit, Glen Hansard, Josh Ritter, Newton Faulkner, Ryan Montbleau Band, The Bravery, Band of Horses, Pete Bjorn and John, Angus and Julia Stone, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, Cage the Elephant, Matthew and the Atlas, Of Monsters and Men, Skinny Lister, Fun., Grouplove, Imagine Dragons, The Tallest Man on Earth, Two Door Cinema Club, and so on and so forth...
The six things I could never do without
1. My best friend
2. The Beatles
3. Red wine or whisky
4. Intimacy (Emotional and Physical)
5. Internet
6. My iPhone (sad but true)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Equality, Southern "heritage" and racism in the U.S., white privilege, wishing we were more like the rest of the civilized world when it comes to paid time off and healthcare, the GOP clown car of potential candidates for 2016.
On a typical Friday night I am
There's no good answer here that doesn't sound cliche or trite. I'm perfectly happy going out for drinks or doing dinner and a movie. Also, if I don't have any plans, I'm perfectly content to stay at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Probably one of the more important things to know about me is that I practice polyamory, also known as consensual non-monogamy. For those who don't know what this means, follow this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polyamory. I'm not against monogamy, and believe that for most people, its the best arrangement. Always interested and happy to talk to like-minded folks. However, I do not think that this defines who I am as a person, nor does it encompass all aspects of my life. I'm just a normal guy, with different dating practices.

– I periodically sleep walk.
– I'm afraid of bears, wolves and sharks.
– I'm also on FetLife.
– DD/lg
– muggledaddydom.tumblr.com
You should message me if
– You want to go for a bike ride
– You like Scotch (or want to drink whiskey with me)
– You have a new band or book I should know about
– You have a podcast suggestion
– You want to talk about everything
– You want to go lay on a blanket in the park on sunny days
– You want to walk around the city and take pictures
– You want to watch Studio Ghibli films
More