38Santa Barbara, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Somewhere between a nerdy philosopher and a social butterfly. That probably doesn't sound good. I love being active and am pretty much up for anything except for playing video games for more than an hour. I have more guy friends than girl friends so I feel like I understand what irks men. I spend hours defending my friends' husbands.
I will never ask you to hold my purse while I shop, nor will I dress you, unless you ask.

Grew up in a very musical family. Love the stuff; can't get enough.
Every genre. I listen to Debussy, Primus and Britney Spears on the same playlist. I am the only sibling of three who has not pursued a musical career. I am a scientist who has to stop and paint, sing, direct a show, write a short story or go on a photography safari every once in a while to satisfy my creative needs.

One of my first toys was a computer yet I can't seem to upload photos on my facebook.

I'm absolutely in love while nature, not so much the little fuzzy bunny part, but the crazy intertwined part. I'm currently finishing my Master's in Ecology. My bachelor's was in Linguistics. I tend to geek out if you put me near the ocean, by a petri dish (yes, I know. eww.) or in a room full of accents or foreign languages.

I'm also very into big functional cities: San Fran, New York, London....probably because they are big rooms of accents and foreign language, with convenient and accessible public transportation. :)

My one true vice is travel. I attribute any debt accrued in my life to the need to climb all over the Eiffel tower or the great wall. Currently, I'm writing this summary from a cabin in the woods (kind of unibomber-sounding, I imagine.) but I'm planing my next trip to New York, already. I'm sort of shopping for the next place I'd like to live. I'm applying to PhD programs in the next few months so I have the potential to end up anywhere.

Nope. Not a trust fund baby. When I'm not in school, I tutor kiddos and help them get into college. It's fun; especially since, often times I feel the 17-year-old and I have about the same maturity level.

I'm a movie person. I spend time texting my guy-friends random lines from movies as a challenge. Not really into the SAW movies (they make my dreams funky) but other classic horror is okay. Yep. I like chick flicks, but I also like Comics movies and Will Farrell stuff. I can watch the anchorman street brawl over and over and over....

I'm looking to meet people who like to go do things even if its just low key stuff. Future friends or love interests; both work for me.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently I'm working on my research for my Master's in Biology/Ecology. Nearly done.
Learning to play the bass (not the fish, the intstrument)
Baking funfetti cupcakes for a friends wedding (its the grooms cake.)
Hopefully, at some point in the future I will finally become a professor. It seems a ways off though.
I’m really good at
Reading people...among other things.

Cooking apparently, or my friends have figured out I will cook for them if they pay me compliments and I'm a schmuck.

Being witty and snappy when the mood strikes me.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes change color.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This way too long of a list but I will try.
Books: Life of Pi, Angels and Demons, Great Expectations, 1984, Brave New World, The Giving Tree, Catundra. Currently reading Don't Sleep, there are snakes and Shoal of Time in an attempt to make the journal articles for my research less painful.

Movies: Documentaries are good but usually I need more mindless stuff because I've been thinking all day and need to wind down.
My tastes are all over the board though: The Count of Monte Cristo, Spiderman, Rocky (i believe 4 is the know, where he fights the evil commies and technology...symbolically), Mickey Blue Eyes, Adventures in babysitting, Goonies, Amelie, Once were warriors, Run Lola Run, Jenzeits der stille, Finding Nemo (represent!)

Music: Dad was a Jazz musician; Mom listened to George Michael and Mowtown. I can't even begin to describe how that contributes to my eclectic musical taste.

Food: Would rather cook it than eat it (cooking is edible design) but I do like to eat it. Currently on a falafel kick. My tastes are very cosmopolitan, although there are some things I don't like: chicken feet, tripe, really fatty meat. Everything is fair game and lots of fun to try.
Six things I could never do without
The Ocean
The Mountains
Night Air
Dinners with friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why things (and people) work the way they do.
On a typical Friday night I am
Typical is not a word used to describe any part of my schedule. I could be out at a club, at home with a movie, having dinner with friends, tutoring a student, or, in the case of tonight, avoiding the research that I should be doing.
I long for a somewhat typical schedule.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I wear my heart on my sleeve.
You should message me if
you aspire to live to the fullest.
you like to discuss random ideas at length or
you found anything above, intriguing, funny, or of the same mindset as yourself.
The two of us