50Eugene, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
This was at the bottom of my profile, but no one seemed to see it:
If you are polyamorous, you won't be anything more than a friend while you are poly -- & that is unlikely. I don't have time for the drama that inevitably forms around the newest justification for indecision and lack of commitment. Polyamory is just a way to lend an aura of legitimacy while you shop around for a better prospect. Since I am not a Christian, I don't really need this legitimization.

“There is nothing more admirable than when two people who see eye to eye keep house as man and wife, confounding their enemies and delighting their friends.” - Homer, The Odyssey

I recently graduated from the University of Oregon with a degree in Japanese Studies (Asian Studies: Japan). I focused on art history and religion. Other than that, I am a single father (divorce finalized Dec 2003), a computer geek, Thelemic occultist and Naval Reservist. I enjoy philosophy, religion and politics. I returned from doing a tour in Kuwait courtesy of the US Navy in 2007.

Some Keywords for the interest links: Philosophy, Tradition/Primordial Tradition/Perennial Philosophy, Occultism, Magick, Thelema, Yoga, Religion, Europa, Conservative Revolution (the non-US one), Preraphaelite, Heidegger, European Culture, Japanese Culture, Chinese Culture, Indo-European, Roman Empire, Hellenic Greece, Imperial Japan, Imperial China, Military Uniforms

I am an INTJ. OkCupid says I am Enneagram type 3, however the Free RHETI Sampler (Enneagram test) shows me as a 5, which seems to be more accurate description-wise.
What I’m doing with my life
[UPDATE 20150823] I am back in Eugene, working for a local Software company.

[UPDATE 20121021] On my Senior Year at UOregon. All is going well, but I am a bit busy. I also work part time at the UOregon Knight Library.

[UPDATE 20110805] I moved to Eugene. Now I am off to Japan and I will be back at the end of the month. I am attending UO this Autumn.

[UPDATE 20110418] I will be moving to Eugene at the end of July. I am rather excited.

[UPDATED] I have been accepted to the University of Oregon's Asian Studies program. I will be moving to Eugene after June 2011 in preparation for the Fall Term 2011.

I took advantage of the poor economy and Post 9-11 GI Bill to enrolled in College. My goal is to attain a transfer degree from Portland Community College and transfer to the University of Oregon in order to earn a degree in Asian Studies with a focus on Japan. Thus, I am attending College and raising my children. I am still a member of the US Naval Reserves. This means that for 2-3 weeks every year I get to go to Japan to hang out in Tokyo (the base is in Yokosuka).
I’m really good at
pretty much anything I have tried, though learning Japanese has proven to be a challenge.
The first things people usually notice about me
I wear mostly black
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Evola, "Ride the Tiger"; Guenon, "Crisis of the Modern World"; Evola, "Men Among the Ruins"; Crowley, "Little Essays Toward Truth"; Nietzsche, "Beyond Good & Evil"; Guenon, "Reign of Quantity"; Crowley, "The Holy Books of Thelema"; Nietzsche, "Also Sprake Zarathrustra"

I occasionally use my LibraryThing account. You can see what I am reading now, and future books I pick up by going there.

Movies Yojimbo, Spirited Away, Soylent Green, Nausicaa, Vertical Ray of the Sun (Foreign Films, Art films, Anime, Cult Films & Action films)

You can check out my Anime preferences at My Anime List.

Bands/Music: Laibach, Current 93, Death in June, Sol Invictus, Within Temptation, Bauhaus, Nurse With Wound (NeoFolk, Classical/Baroque/etc, Gothic, Death Rock, Gothic Metal, Epic Metal, Ambient Industrial, Experimental, NeoClassical)

You can see what music is being played by checking out my LastFM profile.

Food: I cook and I like food from various cultures. Reoccurring favorites seem to be Chinese & Japanese, but that may be because the recipes are rather quick. I tend to get extravagant on the weekends.

(You might infer that I enjoy lists, letting people know what I am doing and social interaction sites).
Six things I could never do without
I spend a lot of time thinking about
On a typical Friday night I am
Cruising the Internet, Watching Movies or Anime, Reading (philosophy, occult, politics, Manga), or Drinking (Vodka Tonics) & Dancing (preferably to EBM, Gothic or Deathrock)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I removed all of my genital piercings (a frenum and apadravya) and have short hair now.
You should message me if
You look good in Utena cosplay or as a Miko or Kitsune/Kitsunetsuki. If you know what all of those things mean, we can give it a go :D

Seriously, I would like to talk to people with similar/overlapping interests. This does mean that you are able to converse with some modicum of ability.

"Women must learn to let themselves enjoy without fear or shame." - Crowley (Comment on AL II:52)
The two of us