34Vancouver, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

I'm still a little skeptical of this whole online dating thing, so please bare with me a bit. If you want to see a face photo, just ask (nicely), and I will send you one.

Right now I'm just looking to meet someone with similar interests that might end up being a new friend or the one... either way I don't want there to be any expectations, but I'm not really looking for one night stands or short term dating.
What I’m doing with my life
Scuba Diving
Dirt biking
Fun having
I’m really good at
enjoying life
looking on the bright side of things
appreciating those who try to improve their lives and situations
coming up with logical reasons and actions to improve situations
procrastinating against using said reasons and actions in my own life
realizing others have way harder lives than almost everyone
criticizing society for being superficial (especially for bitching and complaining about how hard life is and how everything should be handed to them)
understanding if you just want to be friends (possibly because of that last rant)
The first things people usually notice about me
I can be a little shy and reserved at first with women but I can lighten up with the right woman, or after a few drinks.

I think this comes from the fact that I grew up with 3 sisters and two Moms (not lesbian parents, but one bio and one step) so I have a super-respect for women. This makes me ultra cautious about saying or doing something which might offend you or make you uncomfortable.

Once it's clear I'm not going to offend you or make you uncomfortable, I become a little more easy going and my humour and macking skills (or lack there of) start to come out.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS: I've been really big into non-fiction books lately. This is where my true nerd comes out. (but I hear nerd is the new black)

It seems I'll read just about anything on behavioural economics - I know it sounds lame, but it's actually about understanding why people make the day to day decisions they do, which I find really interesting!

I've also been reading quite a few books on the geopolitical future and emerging technologies (trying to understand what our world will be like in 10, 20, 50, and 100 years)

I also seem to be really into history and geography - understanding our world and our environment. I've read quite a few of David Suzuki's books.

I do like some fiction... Hunter S. Thompson is probably my favorite author and I've read most of his books and a lot of his "non-fiction". I like Ayn Rand too and books on dystopias (I recently re-read Brave New World by Aldous Huxley and 1984 and Animal Farm by George Orwell)

MOVIES: Documentaries, good comedies (usually those ones that aren't that big in the theatres, but end up getting a cult following), horror (not gore, but scary / suspenseful), movies that try different cinematic approaches successfully or unsuccessfully (treed murray, the room, rules of attraction, 4 rooms, from dusk till dawn, etc.)

SHOWS: I don't have cable, but do watch a bit of stuff online. Educational Webcasts (TED TALKS and RSA animates), Social commentary cartoons (South Park, Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad, Cleveland Show), Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Law and Order SVU, and a couple mindless sitcom comedies.

MUSIC: I actually still purchase CD's at the store. I like lots of music varieties, and will see almost any live show, especially local music.

I like everything from the Beatles, CCR and Queen to Sigur Ros, Beirut and He's My Brother, She's My Sister, to Dr Dre, Classified and Talib Qweli. Not too big into country, but that seems to be slowly changing. (I like seem to like the occasional song when I'm drunk and dancing with friends if it's not at a country night)

FOOD: I like variety... Anything ethnic... Steak... I like vegetarian too if it's tasty... I like to cook, but rarely do if I'm just cooking for myself (I was raised cooking for 7 people and always cook way too much and it goes bad in the fridge)
Six things I could never do without
SNOWBOARDING - any potential wifey must either ski or snowboard (or be open to learning) - ie... this is a DEAL BREAKER
SCUBA DIVING - any potential wifey should be into scuba diving (or be open to learning) - this isn't a deal breaker, but it'd be nice to explore the underwater world together when we are traveling the world
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to leave the world a better place
On a typical Friday night I am
Partying, Sleeping, or somewhere in between - usually depends on what I am doing Saturday morning and what's going on Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I enjoy answering the OK cupid questions. Some of them really make me think about the kind of person I am.
You should message me if
You share some interests and are into meeting up for a coffee or a drink with the knowledge that statistically speaking the odds are probably against us actually having a successful long-term relationship.
The two of us