37 Playa del Rey, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved back to LA about a year ago, and have been busy re-acclimating to Southern California. I love it here, and after a brief stint on the east coast helping out with some family stuff, I am ecstatic to be back where rainy days constitute "awful" weather. I just bought my first condo, have ditched most of my ikea furniture and have all but one room painted. The condo is cool and all, but it was really just a means to an end: I've wanted to have a dog for ages, and owning my own place finally allowed me to do that. I just got a shiba inu puppy, and I'm kinda head over heels for the little gal.

Anyway - I've feel like I've been pretty lucky in life. I came from a good family, where I felt loved, encouraged, and supported. I grew up in a town where I felt safe, have been fortunate that while I've had the normal set of challenges, I've largely been successful in my career, and in my life. I have good friends who challenge me and are wonderful and intelligent (who's friendship I plan on abusing by getting them to puppy-sit).

I've been to Europe and Asia, taken illegal canal boat tours trough ancient cities, and seen masterworks of art and travel extensively. I've woken up in tropical locations feeling warm wind caress me as I laid in a hammock overlooking crystal blue ocean and eating fresh cut mango.

I've achieved a lot of my goals at a pretty early age. I started my first business when I was fifteen, and while I took a break from entrepreneurship, I'm coming off of building and nurturing a startup over the course of about two years. Unfortunately, by the time we brought it to market, other, bigger, competitors had arrived as well (google and a few others) so we decided to scrap it, and I'm now working on a few different mini startup projects to see which one gets the most traction. If no one's paying you, it counts as fun, right? :)

In the gaps, I'm remarkably lucky to have a job where I'm my own boss, and travel around the continental US (and occasionally abroad) to teach IT/Technology classes. It can be a little dry, but I'm not stuck in an office all day, and I only have to work about two weeks a month. I've recently re-discovered my love of making art, and have been immersing myself in drawing and painting digital art, so that's taking up a lot of my time off.

I'm not looking for someone specific, but I am looking for specific qualities- I am drawn to people who have a creative outlet, be that art, music, dance, or just dancing. I read, and think that nothing is sexier than a cute girl sweats and a tshirt, nose deep in a book, curled up on the couch. I love being with someone with a zeal for life, and someone who will drag me into pet stores to go play with puppies if I forget.
What I’m doing with my life
Teaching, traveling, (re)learning, how to sail, enjoying life... Lately I've been spending an unusual amount of time rolling around on the ground with sweaty guys; I've started learning Brazilian jiujitsu. It's strange having a sizeable group of friends who all have tried to choke you. :)
I’m really good at
drawing, technology, art, making people laugh.
The first things people usually notice about me
the axe. ok, I don't have an axe. I'm not sure what the first thing people notice, I think that would be kind of a weird thing to ask.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
a) islands in the stream, murakami, kafka, dumas, i read looots of books
c) anything from pantara -> pachbell. monster madness -> madness;
elvis costello -> joe jackson -> mason jennings -> metallica.

d) thai food, sushi, breakfast, eclairs, hamburgers w/ blue cheese.
The six things I could never do without
- pancakes
- coffee
- sleep
- water
- electricity

- did I say pancakes?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
data structures, empanadas, politics
On a typical Friday night I am
Having dinner with friends, catching a movie, reading a book, out at a gallery - who knows.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once pooped my pants in order to not be found during a game of hide-and-seek.
You should message me if
You're not taking this too seriously. I have no idea what some of my best friends' match/friend/enemy percentages are and we get on fine. If for some reason you think we'd get on, say hello. We can figure that out as we go.