29 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
At a strange point in a complicated relationship. Not certain if I'm ready to move on.

I'm nerdy, compassionate, and outdoorsy. Music is how I comprehend life; it is a primal need for me.

I am weird, eccentric, and multifaceted. I've got a mild stutter, but it doesn't bother me. Don't let it bother you.

I'm not afraid of bugs (well, mostly) or blood. I'm a first aider and can do CPR (certified CPR/AED for the professional responder). I've usually got my 10 essentials on me, though the peanut butter is wont to explode in my purse.

I've been called a goofball on quite a few occasions. I consider myself a Nerdfighter.

I'm an introvert. INTROVERT!!! This means that long periods of socialization or large groups of people are a lovely mix between exhausting and vaguely terrifying.

The easiest way to find out more about me is to ask.
What I’m doing with my life
Working a fairly repetitive job at a university hospital. Not incredibly exciting, but it pays the bills and I'm helping people. Maybe about to work a different but similarly repetitive job at the same university hospital?

Singing in Seattle Pro Musica. It's wonderful.

Playing outside (hooray NW forest passes!). It's foraging season! (it's always foraging season!)

Baking. (recently: buche de noel- a French Christmas cake shaped like a log) Just got a new old-fashioned cast iron waffle iron. It's magical. My boss got me cupcake papers to encourage me to bring more things to work. She's awesome. I made peppermint truffles using a modified third-generation candy recipe. They're incredible.

Cleaning up after my exchange student. Seriously, how hard is it to put the lid back on? Or throw out your garbage?
I’m really good at
Cooking delicious things when I have the time to.

Making a complete and utter fool of myself. (disjointed profile: check! Snapping my glasses into pieces: check!)

Dancing. I pick it up quickly. I really miss it.

Apparently I'm very fast at learning healthcare software.
The first things people usually notice about me
Sometimes I carry a parasol. People look at me funny for that, but I sunburn faster than anyone else I know. (3 hours if it's raining, 15-20 minutes in sun)

My nametag: "So, what's an Ambulatory Float?"
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'll read just about anything. I enjoy sci-fi and fantasy, mystery and crime fiction, mythology, and sacred books. My favorites combine two or more of those categories.

TV wise, I like Doctor Who (4, 5, 11), and Star Trek (TNG, VOY), and Bones, and Castle. Not really committed to anything else, though I'll watch pretty much anything with decent writing. That being said, I think TV is really just something to do in between doing much more interesting things, like singing or being outside.

I don't really like movies. Well, I like really well done children's movies and some classic movies. I'm indifferent about everything else. Oo, and not-too-gory sci-fi movies- the cheesier the better.

I'm a musician (soprano, occasional composer), and I like all sorts of music. Not big on pop music, though. Sons of Bill are my cousins, and I think they're great. I like early music and world music and world fusion and Russian Romantics and British composers and Quebecois music and some electronic music and all sorts of stuff. If it's not top 40 music, I'll probably like it, though I may not have heard it before. While music is fun to listen to, I vastly prefer to be actively involved in it through performance or movement.

I love to cook, and I enjoy eating just about anything I try. When I have time, I enjoy foraging and cooking with wild food. I also like growing my own food.
The six things I could never do without
1. Music- this one is interesting because most people like to listen to music. I don't often enjoy listening to music, but can't get enough of participating in music through singing or movement.

2. Books- I'm a nerdy bookworm/information sponge.

3. A decent cookpot- Really. A well made pot will last generations and make cooking so much better. I <3 my cast iron and my three ply stainless steel and copper sauce pans.

4. Mountains- Real ones. I grew up between the Olympics and Cascades. They're how I navigate and where I like to go play.

5. a good sharp knife- Seriously. Decent knives are wonderful. None of that "never needs sharpening" bullshit.

6. clean socks, especially the nice thick wool ones (winter) / Chaco sandals (summer)-I've had a permanent Chaco tan for the past 6 years.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Words. How they happened, where they're from, why we chose that set of sounds to symbolize that particular object or idea.

What/when I ate last or am about to eat. I'm really good at forgetting to eat if I'm busy.

Permaculture food forests. How to turn my backyard into one, and how to keep the dog and chickens from, hm, freestyle renovation in the process.

If my current relationship is an actual relationship, or if I'm just being a pollyanna.

"What is the dog into now?"
On a typical Friday night I am
Wishing I were being less boring. Or wishing I could sleep. Trying to find the balance between well rested, caught up on chores, and adequate socialization? Something like that.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I answer to the name "Mountain Goat" often better than my actual name. It was my camp name, and it fits me pretty well I think.

The colour beige gives me nightmares.
You should message me if
You like nerdy girls.

You want to go dancing- I like Contra, West coast swing, waltz, and am up for learning more (and desperate to get back into dancing).

You think I'm cute (because I am).

You miss doing yard work. Do I have an opportunity for you!