35Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved from Chicago to New York in June of 2010, and I'm still (and will hopefully always be) a Midwesterner at heart. Although I've been in NYC for a while, I’m really looking forward to learning more about the city and meeting more friends.

Friends and family are very important to me. I really enjoy being with friends and family, but who doesn’t? One of my major inspirations in my life is my Grandfather. He has taught me many life lessons that I apply to my daily life.

I really enjoy live music, anything from the start up band playing a local bar to a huge concert, including country music. A few of my favorite concerts were Kenny Chesney and Oasis, and no they've never played together, but that might be a fun concert :-). Listening to music has the ability to put me into a great mood. I'm always looking for new places to see live music, and new bands or songs to be my next favorite. What are some of your favorites? I love going to comedy shows as well, in addition to comedy shows held at random theaters, I've been to Carolines and the Comedy Cellar; and a few others -- all great venues! I’m a Cubs fan and I've been to a few Mets and Yankees games since I've been in NY this past season I was able to go to all 3 Cubs/Mets games. Going to live sporting events are always a fun time, I've been to see the NY Jets and Giants (in NJ apparently!?!), Yankees, Mets, Rangers and probably a few others I forgot.

Recently I've been traveling a lot and I really enjoy seeing other places. I've been to Miami, Chicago, Houston, San Juan, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Buenos Aires, Atlanta, Indianapolis and a few others in 2013. I have a great job that gives me the opportunity to take a lot of vacation time, and sometimes they'll send me out which is even better!

I'm looking forward to hearing from you.
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying the city, meeting new friends.

Career: I'm a Senior Infrastructure Engineer/Architect. I design and maintain the foundation of of our entire IT infrastructure. I work for a hedge fund and I'm responsible for making sure that our servers are always available, fast enough, expandable enough, reliable enough, etc. As long as I do my job right nobody really knows what I do at all, because everything just works.. all the time. I love what I do and I'm happy to have found a great company to do it at.
I’m really good at
There are other things, but this is more fun to talk about -- Playing Kickball! I've been with the same team with ZogSports for about 3 years now.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV: Dexter, Modern Family, Breaking Bad, The Wire, How I Met Your Mother, Simpsons, Family Guy -- I know there's a lot more great shows out there too but I just don't make time to watch them all anymore. I watch more TV than movies.

I like all kinds of music -- it just depends on the context of the situation. Top 40 fast music at the gym or while exercising; relaxing, calm music while walking to/from work; it really depends on the situation there aren't many types of music that don't have a place in my life.

I'm leaning how to cook more advanced meals, I have most of the utensils and pots and pans I need to cook; I'm working to get out of my comfort zone of chicken and brown rice. My favorite kinds of food are Mexican, Thai, Sushi and chicken in pretty much any form but fried. Freshdirect is one of the best grocery stores I've ever used.
Six things I could never do without
Never is a strong word -- I'd prefer to not live without

Nice weather
Vacations to sunny beaches
Getting out of the city from time to time
Lazy Sundays
Great friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Planning for the long term future and executing how I'm going to arrive at my aspirations for the future.
You should message me if
You have your life in order; meaning that you're happy with where you're at in your life right now, other than a boyfriend of course :-)

You have a stable career, and a good practice of a work / life balance. You have a plan for the future and where you want to be in the next 5-10 years. You love to travel, love music and NYC (and Chicago too!). Confidence is really important to me. I think it's very attractive for you to have a passion about something, whether it's music, cooking or living.

Ultimately I'm looking for my best friend; and someone who I can wake up to every day and be happier because we're together.
I'm looking for someone who I'm comfortable with and someone who's comfortable with me. Hopefully that's not too much to ask :-)
The two of us