30 Toronto, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an adult human male and recovering academic. I had assumed for some time that by this point I would be just about finished with my PhD and maybe already be a brilliant professor of something or other. That did not happen. Also, it's probably too late for my original childhood plan of being an astronaut. I'm in the process of coming up with something else. In the meantime I am working several different jobs, writing a lot (a mostly useless habit of many former academics I think), enjoying city life while fantasizing about the wilderness, eating paleo/primal food, and generally thriving in pretty much every way.

I have formed a very rewarding and successful partnership with:
You should check her out. I spend most of my time with her.

I enjoy making my own fun and my own soap. I do not spend money in bars or restaurants and the only places I usually go out to are the homes of friends, public parks and gardens, and museums/art galleries. My favourite activities are reading books, walking around in the woods, and drinking wine and dancing in low lighting.
What I’m doing with my life
-Kicking ass and taking names.

-Bucking the system and sticking it to the man.

-Whistling while I work.

-Thinking about where my food comes from.

-Reading lots of books.
I’m really good at
Reading, writing, research, dealing with vicious animals, sprinting short distances, lifting heavy things, reaching things in high places, skinning rabbits, eating quickly, growing a beard.
The first things people usually notice about me
-The fact that I'm not wearing pants, or shoes.
-The amount of hard-boiled eggs and whole, raw vegetables I'm eating in public.
-How stunningly good-looking I am.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
War and Peace, His Master's Voice, The Cyberiad, House of Leaves, Dune, Neuromancer,Thus Spoke Zarathustra.

2001: A Space Odyssey, The Empire Strikes Back, Inland Empire, nature documentaries (David Attenborough)

TNG, Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Futurama, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Archer, TRUE DETECTIVE

Ratatat, The Beatles, Spoon, Philip Glass

Sustainably and humanely raised meat. Hot peppers. Chips of any kind.
The six things I could never do without
My instinct here is to be snarky and say things like oxygen, water, food, etc. However, that's probably not the point of the question, so I will say books, friendship, fresh food, the company of beautiful women (an important subset of friendship), silence, and dancing.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Sustainability, space exploration, food, women, evolution, the super-massive black hole at the center of the galaxy.
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday night used to be arts and crafts night but now that usually happens on Saturday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Piercings of any kind really freak me out. It's almost a phobia. Yes, even the ears... maybe especially the ears. I'm sorry. No, you can't fix me.
You should message me if
I do occasionally send messages, but I mostly decline to get lost in the constant barrage of "hey beautiful," "hey how are you today," etc. it seems the ladies get on here, so I definitely encourage you to send me a message if you'd like to. Just because I've looked at your profile and haven't said hi doesn't mean I wouldn't want to talk to you.
Message me especially if:

-We have a match percentage over 90 OR we have a match percentage under 50 (those have been some of the most interesting interactions I've had so far.) Or, yknow what? Anywhere in between as well, whatever.

-You want to be friends with me.

-You also dislike wearing shoes and pants.

-You want to come over and do arts and crafts with a chill crowd of people.

-You want to play some cool board games.

-OR you are a sassy older lady with a ton of money and you want to take me out to fancy parties and expensive dinners. I can clean your pool or scrub the deck of your yacht or whatever.