36 Oak Ridge, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, My name is Tim. I like to think of myself as an easy-going, intelligent, fun sort of guy. I enjoy time spent with those closest to me; family and friends, rank highest on my priority list. I finished up my Master's degree in History with a concentration in Military history about a year ago now. My goal has been to finally enter into a career as an educator, which I will be doing starting in January '13. I just recently returned to the Greensboro/Winston-salem area to take up a full-time teaching position. Teaching others is what I have always found myself doing no matter where I have been in life, :-). I'm still recovering from my six years in Finance as a Register Representative/Stock Broker and insurances salesman. I enjoy the outdoors, archery (of which I am a coach), camping, swimming, and working out. While some of these extracurricular activities have fallen by the wayside while I've been in grad school (hence the "little extra" under body type), I am in a place in my life where I have the time and energy to make myself a better person, in all categories than my previous "high points." I feel like I am here to do something meaningful in this life while sharing those experiences with others who will enjoy them as much as I do. If this sounds appealing, feel free to drop me a line. Any "deeper" details about me and my life... well you'll just have to ask. I appreciate and do my best to reward curiosity.

The test on here says I am ENFJ- the teacher. Given that education is my passion I'd say that is pretty accurate.

The three best words that I think describe me are intelligent, creative, and friendly.
What I’m doing with my life
Making my career work for me so I can create comfortable life both in the short-term and long, to do my best in raising my daughter, and being an example for her.
I’m really good at
Archery, Swimming, Games (board, table-top), Hiking, camping, researching (getting to work at the LoC has to be my favorite experience doing this), and being a Dad (at least I like to think so)... and as I found out last weekend (10/12) whitewater rafting, :-).
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm 6'3" and built like a football player (though I've never played).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books- Its probably easier to list authors: Philip Athans, R.A. Salvatore, Tom Clancy, Richard Baker, Elaine Cunningham, Margaret Weis, books involving history of world militaries, religions, and culture.

Movies- Comedies, documentaries, suspense, sci-fi, fantasy, martial arts. Some of my favorites include Men in Tights, Clue, Labyrinth, Rocky Horror (but only around Halloween), Lord of the Rings trilogy, Underworld trilogy, Matrix, Fearless, Hero, Kill Bill I & II, Iron man, Thor, Serenity, Brotherhood of the Wolf, The Princess Bride, Star Wars (original versions), a majority of the Star Trek movies (especially the TNG ones), most Disney movies and some stand up comedy (Lewis Black, Jeff Dunham, Robin Williams).

TV- Big Bang, UNC-TV travel shows, Family Guy, Game of Thrones, The Pacific, Daily Show, Colbert Report, Wipe Out, NCIS, NOVA, National Geographic, Nightly News, History Channel, Discovery, Animal Planet, Athetic events: Olympics, Football (American and European, college and professional), Gymnastics (started back with Kerry Strugg), Swimming.

Music- My tastes run the gamut from Classical, to Opera/music theatre (and yes there is a difference), big band, to rock, nu metal, hip hop, some types of funk and jazz. Basically if it has a beat you can move to and a good bass line I'll probably like it.

Food- I'm trying to shift my diet to a more vegetable-centric one. So I'm experimenting with new foods as most of my old favorites were really not that great for me. In terms of national cuisine I have to go with Mexican, Chinese, Japanese, some Indian, Italian, some Irish, and of course the mish-mash that is American.
The six things I could never do without
Family, friends, books, movies, camping, pets
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future: my little girl, my students, travel...
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually in with a book or a movie, though I'm looking to change that up a bit now that my graduate studies have concluded and I have reestablished full-time employment.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I wrote a 500-page novel between the ages of 12 and 17. Sadly only the last, but longest chapter survived a computer crash some years ago.
You should message me if
You think my interests and yours align and you want to be friends first and, from there, possibly build something more.... lets see, what else:

-If you are the type of girl who is comfortable without make-up.
-If you don't have cats... sorry, I love the little buggers but I'm allergic :-(.
- If you're from the Northeast, that's a plus.
- if you can't stand Fox News, Limbaugh, Beck, Coulter, or Ayn Rand, etc.
- if you have a bit of a nerdy/geeky streak
- if you are comfortable in your own skin, but still have a desire to live a healthy and balanced life.
-(I'll add more as they come to me)