41Dallas, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Fun-loving, with need for frequent introspection. Can be a goofball when not stressed about work. Love good wine & bizarre foods. I'm a music lover with pretty insanely eclectic tastes. Like to travel when I can, I need beaches and sunshine. I am down to earth and real, and am attracted to happy, genuine people. I have been in Dallas for 11 years now, but want to keep discovering new things. I can enjoy winding down, cooking (yes, I'm good), & chilling out. I'm a big on foreign/independent films, and enjoy going to shows. Work-wise, I'm in the education business. But I want to open a bar/restaurant somewhere in the Mediterranean in the next 4-5 years!! Will spend several months of the year there... I'm open-minded and try to be kind to everyone, irrespective of social status, religion, etc. etc. I think tolerance and fairness are super important qualities in the company I keep.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm finishing a degree (5 months left) so that's kinda taking mainstage at the moment, but I need to escape every few days and or I'll eat up the laptop. The degree will open certain doors, but does not define who I am.

Working on a my first novel (have published more than a dozen short stories internationally), traveling (not really at this point, till the degree is over), exploring art, the human condition, the animal kingdom...
I’m really good at
being a host; being an organizer; starting the revolution every morning promptly at 7am, wait, can we make that 11?

I am socially conscious--I recycle; I worry about where my fish is from; and I want to know who & what I'm supporting exactly for what reason.
I'm good at standing up for what I believe is right & just.
Coming from a very poor country, I'm very interested in how things can change for the better.

afterwards, i like to kick back and have a good time.
The first things people usually notice about me
My colorful socks??
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food & travel shows, history and Discovery features.

I read a bunch; favorites include works in "magical realism" - so Marquez, Rushdie, Borges, etc., etc....

ALL kinds of music, anything from bluegrass to opera to drum 'n bass. As long as passion, talent and dedication are involved, they can hardly be wrong.

I'm a foodie, I cook sometimes, but am always looking for new places/cuisines.
Six things I could never do without
Music - need a source for riddims.

Animals - anything, a squirrel could be a good friend

Human Company. Perhaps with a beer.

Something soapy & toothpasty

Spices - as aforementioned, I like to cook.

The rest can be substituted.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
If I've done enough good; and how I can do more.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out and about usually. Anything from an art gallery, wine tasting/chugging, to dancing?

Also can have quiet nights, to catch a movie and chill. Though some restless nights, I might need to be tranquilized. :p
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
People think I act younger than my age. But I pretty much like it like that.

Sometimes, I feel kinda alienated (I'm a writer after all!), but as Bukowski said, there are worse things than being alone.

And the OkCupid profile test thingy deems I'm a "Loverboy"--Random Gentle Love Master (RGLM--and that I thrive in committed relationships. But I kinda knew that anyway; it's just that being termed a "Loverboy" is cheesy as hell.

Also, I love empty profiles. They let my imagination run wild.
You should message me if
you find me interesting and if you feel you have an open heart and mind. Fun times will follow for sure.
The two of us