nyj9
42 Los Angeles, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
nyj9
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Native New Yorker, transplanted to CA in 2006.

Love going on adventures, even if it's just rambling about locally. In to dorky things like botany, etymology and Firefly. I can be very serious, but I don't take myself too seriously. Given to bouts of extreme silliness. Logical. Sometimes a bit spacey. Shy at first. Love to challenge myself.
What I’m doing with my life
Moved to LA 2 years ago after 4 years traveling and working in Alaska. Grad school, so busy as hell. Science! Gardening. Yoga. Writing.
I’m really good at
Daydreaming. Scrabble. Kissing. Work stuff.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm tall, and I laugh a lot.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Christopher Hitchens, Lewis Thomas, & Carl Sagan, Song for the Blue Ocean by Carl Safina, Pride and Prejudice; Movies: Amelie, The Princess Bride, Life Aquatic, Rushmore, Brick, The Avengers GOTG; TV: Mighty Boosh, Daily Show, Firefly, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Blacklist; Food: Candy! also pasta and anything spicy. (I eat my vegetables, I swear.)
The six things I could never do without
1. A hairbrush... my hair has a mind of its own. 2. The news. 3. Proximity to saltwater - I grew up on an island. I will never live far from the sea. 4. Food. 5. Water. This is silly. 6. My friends and family - I don't know what I would do without them.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Things that make me smile. The last good book I read/movie I saw. What assignment is due next? #gradschoolproblems Politics. Sea creatures. Figuring stuff out.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends, having dinner or drinks, dancing, at the movies or rabble rousing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have major writing anxiety... And a secret/not so secret fantasy to be a writer.
More