78Short Hills, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I like to think that I possess the qualities that are most important to me in others: honesty, kindness, intelligence, and humor (the drier the better). And a sense of fun. I grew up in Westchester County and, after having lived in Manhattan, Italy (Florence, Milan, and Terni), a brief stint in Japan, then back to Westchester, moved to New Jersey 38 years ago. I like it here. The two things that I have done in my life that were most important to me were to have children (two: a son and a daughter) and to travel extensively. In that order. One of my major goals in life has always been to learn as much as possible about as many things as possible. Needless to say, I'm still working on it. I don't have a dog. I can't hit a baseball.

I am Jewish, a non-believer with a strong sense of Jewish identity. The man that I date need not be Jewish. Incompatible would be anyone for whom religion is exceedingly important... any religion.

I also, as you will have gleaned after having read this profile, have a penchant for parentheses. (Exclamation points too!)
What I’m doing with my life
I retired from the practice of law five years ago (after having entered law school at age 50). I also have a permanent New York state teaching license (is there a woman my age who doesn't?) and a second bachelor's degree in interior design from Parson's. I ran an interior design business before entering law school; practicing law is so much easier!! I loved practicing law; I love not practicing law. I now have time to pursue some of the pastimes that I enjoy most: playing bridge (duplicate and team games at clubs and tournaments); reading; the usual cultural events, especially theater; walking; walking tours (most recently one about the Jewish Mafia on the Lower East Side); cooking; puttering around; hanging out with friends. I've always managed to arrange to spend a lot of time with my daughter and her family who live in Saint Paul (sob) and my son and daughter-in-law who live in Manhattan. It's a challenge to maintain strong bonds with each of my three granddaughters because they live so far away. So far, I've managed!
I’m really good at
Cooking comes to mind.
The first things people usually notice about me
I will ask them and get back to you.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: anything that's good in any genre except science fiction and romance novels.
Movies: usually foreign and indies although there have been some terrific American movies in the past few years, in particular "The Visitor."
Theater: usually off Broadway; rarely big musicals.
Food: Anything that is well prepared and made with great ingredients.
Music: Bach, Mendelsohn, etc., etc., Country, Latin, have just begun to appreciate Elvis Presley(!). True confession: I generally prefer to listen to arias (Pavarotti over Domingo) rather than entire operas.
Six things I could never do without
My children and my grandchildren.
My friends.
When I'm home I think I couldn't live without my stuff and when I'm away I don't miss it at all.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
No one thing in particular but I do not hesitate to be alone with my thoughts.
On a typical Friday night I am
No typical any night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a rather private person... but that's an open secret.
You should message me if
You think we'd find lots to laugh about together.
The two of us