61Farmington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am grateful for the many good things in my life: My relationships with my two adult daughters have never been better; I love my job, and I am in excellent health. I used to be very self-critical and perfectionistic -- I tended to focus on my mistakes and what I felt was lacking in my life (the proverbial glass half-empty). Now, I appreciate what I have and am much more forgiving of myself and others. Life is so much better this way.

I grew up in Northampton, Massachusetts (now dubbed "NoHo") which was not nearly as progressive as it is now. There were always an abundance of cultural activities, especially in the arts, to which I was fortunate enough to have access.

I think I'm "down-to-earth" in the sense that I'm not very materialistic. Given the choice, I would prefer an enriching travel experience over an expensive piece of jewelry.

I can't imagine life without humor and mine can be quite irreverent (in a good way). I am fortunate to work in an environment where laughter abounds and I come from a funny family (no, not that kind of funny). Although most people at this stage of life have baggage, myself included, I feel that I am more emotionally healthy
than I have ever been. I have a lot to offer in a relationship and hope to find someone with whom to make it mutual.

My daughter doesn't think this profile conveys who I am and asked to write this in here:

My mom is incomparably caring, compassionate, sweet and kind. One example: When I was having a hard time last year, and finally admitted it to her, she showed up on my doorstep an hour later and sat with me, listened to me, and helped me come up with a plan to get out of the space I was in, which I did, and would not have without her help. My mom possesses something so few people do: the emotional well-being and maturity that allows her to foster honesty, awareness and openness in all her relationships. Even my mother's nags are sweet because she pokes fun at herself, sending me texts that say, "news bulletin from Nagsville" or "this has been today's scheduled nag" and the like. Despite her intellect, she manages to never take herself too seriously, which makes her a lot of fun to be around. I am incredibly fortunate to have her as a mother and a best friend.
What I’m doing with my life
I love my job working in a rehab program for men with substance abuse issues. I am very close to my two adult daughters and am very fortunate that my mother, who is turning 85, is still living and thriving. I am very active and look and feel much younger than my chronological age. I run 4-5 times a week and I love to walk, hike, swim, cross-country ski and go to the beach. I also love to travel.
I’m really good at
I am an excellent listener, very good cook and have a great sense of humor. I have been told that I am articulate and expressive. I am also devoted to friends and family.
The first things people usually notice about me
My engaging smile
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Among my favorite books are A Thousand Splendid Suns about the plight of women in Afghanistan, Angela's Ashes and all of Wally Lamb's books. I love going to the movies and enjoy my subscription to Netflix. I loved Mad Men and am currently watching Homeland and Masters of Sex. I also love live theater and have season's tickets to TheaterWorks in Hartford. Among my favorites were "High" with Kathleen Turner and more recently ,"Venus and Fur"I love seeing shows in NewYork and enjoyed La Cage Ax Folles with Kelsey Grammar, Next to Normal and Avenue Q. I enjoy a wide range of music including classical. Among my favorite artists are Elton John, Billy Joel, Simon and Garfunkel, the Beatles and going way back, Peter, Paul and Mary. I also love going out to eat as well as cooking. Favorites are Italian, continental. Greek/Middle Eastern and good old American.
Six things I could never do without
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The people in my life who I care about.
On a typical Friday night I am
Getting together with a friend for dinner and a movie or play. If i don't have plans, I typically watch something on Netflix.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I still eat Oreos like a kid.
You should message me if
you are an active, intelligent, interesting guy with compatible interests and values.
The two of us