41 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a laid back drama averse guy with a good sense of humor and an optimistic view on life. I am the type you appreciate after you've had enough dating guys that are in this for distraction and ego. You will know when you've reached that point. Hopefully, you'll find me before you have online dating PTSD.

I value friendship, moral courage, lots of laughter, and generosity. I am very forgiving and accepting of others faults since I've got a few of my own.

I'm mostly extroverted but I've come to love and appreciate introverts. I generally think the best of people until proven otherwise. I experience mild depression when house guests leave. As you will see from my profile, brevity is not my strong suit.

I have lived all over, including overseas, but the Bay Area has continually performed its magic on me, despite the tech crazed rents. I am an East Coast transplant but the transplant has taken. I take my anti-rejection drugs by occasionally going medieval on the nearest 19 year old driving a Maserati 35 mph in traffic to Palo Alto........just for therapy. I always apologize after. I am a bit addicted to my Iphone so I can't complain too much. I hold no grudges against people in tech - I don't want to lose 3/4ths of my dating pool.

If you are prone to unintentionally putting your foot in your mouth, and you can laugh about it, you are my kind of people.

Full disclosure: I am divorced (yes, officially-Ive heard people bend the truth about this) and share 50/50 custody of an amazing 6 year old boy who I adore. I'm open to dating anyone who loves kids. I do have time to date during the week and on weekends. I even have the summers free for adventures (his mom takes him to visit relatives overseas). Oh, and while I am happy to share dad stories, I do have plenty else to talk about.

So, like everyone, I have lots of things I love to do. In terms of finding the right person, I personally don't think its a very relevant factor - well, unless you are into some freaky stuff I need to know about. When I have free time, you can typically find me at a martial arts class, running day or night, the movies, a dive bar, the beach walking my dog, or just chilling on my sofa with a great book (I do the old fashioned paper book thing). I've gotten quite into personal and spiritual growth so my bedside table rivals a library in Lhasa.

As long as you are generally fit and active, kind, compassionate, and grounded, what you watch, do for a living, listen to, or read, makes absolutely no difference to me. Actually, I'm hoping you'll turn me on to some new stuff.

I work as an attorney - please...please...don't leave my profile yet. Ive never chased an ambulance. Well, once, but that was just for fun. I do good work I promise. I don't screw anyone over. Get this, I even get loads of vacation time, get paid well, and work a regular workweek. No, I don't work for the mafia. I studied environmental law and I am very concerned about animal welfare and wildlife conservation, including the spiders in your bathroom.

I'm a monogamous oriented guy. My goal of dating is to eventually meet someone and have an amazing relationship. That said, I don't jump into relationships. I just don't flee from them either. Well, unless I have good reason to.

I love getting out and hitting the trails on a sunny day but you wont find me moaning about rainy foggy days, especially if I have someone to cuddle up with (although my black lab is always pretty game for that). I run a lot, not competitively, but to clear that "monkey mind" of mine.

I am an affectionate person. If the thought of kissing in a park bothers you or you are the type that likes to sleep on the other side of the bed, please read no further. I am not your guy.

I absolutely love to travel. I've been all over the developed and developing world. I can stay on a friends couch, a hostel bed, a bug infested hotel, a hammock, or a tent as easily as a 5 star hotel. I know how to rough it big time and how to live in style.

Relationships: I am much clearer as to what I want than I ever was before. I am not closed to marriage or having another child with the right person.

I can make you laugh when you are having a bad day...guaranteed! If you don't laugh at least a little on our first date, Ill refund your money.

My preference is still to fall in love the old fashioned way, whatever that is. I know, however, that online dating can work. If you think we are a match, please don't hesitate to drop me a line. Ive had better success dating the women who have reached out to me. Not going to analyze why.
What I’m doing with my life
All kinds of stuff. Always trying to make it better. I am pretty happy with my job but I plan to have my own practice and business one day soon. I pride myself on being a really good father. I am trying to improve my Muay Thai high kicks. I will soon learn to paddle board and speak French. Those things are going to happen! I do volunteer pro bono legal work when I can.
I’m really good at
Making people laugh. Making awesome smoothies. Poop talk with my 6 year old. Certain impersonations. Punching pads. Defusing angry people. Smooth talking to get refunds or better flights. Writing. Reading super fast. Dealing with animals, even vicious ones.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm pretty funny. I don't hesitate to tell it like it is. I am very knowledgable about world affairs. I have a great accent in Spanish. I look younger than I am .
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, The Power of Now, Atlas Shrugged, Shantaram, The Roadless Traveled, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Midnights Children, The Alchemist, Palace of Desire, 100 years of solitude, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Beloved, Americanah
Movies: Kolya, Like Water for Chocolate, Burnt by the Sun, Cinema Paradiso, Legends of the Fall, The Matrix, Barbarian Invasions, and so many more.
TV Shows: Shameless, The Walking Dead, Orange is the New Black, The Ultimate Fighter, Breaking Bad, House of Cards
Music: DJ Cheb I Sabbah, Vampire Weekend, Fun, Karsh Kale, Anoushka Shankar, Krishna Das, Arcade Fire, Group Love, Mazzy Star, Bastille
Food: I have very diverse tastes but I would have to say that I favor Asian/Indian food
The six things I could never do without
exceptional coffee, a little attitude, true friendship, a spiritual practice, an occasional massage, a hard driving workout, skepticism of authority, and a calculator since I clearly can't count to 6.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What, if anything, is holding me back from living out my true potential?
On a typical Friday night I am
Going out with friends to eat at new restaurants/bars, watch movies at home or out, or if I'm tired, stay home and read a book or otherwise just chill at home. I dont feel pressure to go out. I go out when I feel like it and if there is something I really want to do. I may go out late on a Wednesday and stay in on a Friday. If I want to go out and nobody wants to come, I have no trouble going alone.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I enjoy a good cuddle. If that's wrong, I dont want to be right.
You should message me if
You are looking for a guy who is sincere, easy to talk to, engaging, and who knows how to treat a woman right.